TMN Tinnies February 6, 2018

TMN Tinnies: Save the new date plus VIP guest confirmed

TMN Tinnies: Save the new date plus VIP guest confirmed

The first annual TMN Tinnies has a new date, with the ceremony now set to go down on Friday, February 2.

TMN has also confirmed that a high-profile international VIP will be in attendance on the night of nights.

The full list of 40 finalists – presented by Forbes Street Studios and digital agency Jaden Social – across eight categories, was revealed last month.

All of these deserving finalists were shortlisted based on nominations from readers following consultation with industry players.

The Manager of the Year, Label A&R of the Year, Publishing A&R of the Year and A&R Artist Development of the Year awards received the lion’s share of nominations.

All four of these awards will recognise the rockstars within local music businesses who have, arguably, made the most significant contribution to their employer, their artists and the Australian music scene generally. They’ve also each enjoyed notable success as a result.

The Startup of the Year and Indie Label of the Year awards will recognise two companies who have demonstrated innovation, investment and international opportunities for Australian artists.

And last, but certainly not least, the Songwriter of the Year and Producer of the Year awards are to celebrate artistic entrepreneurship for or from up-and-coming Australian acts.

Check out the full list of nominations below. 

Manager of the year

  1. Bill Cullen – One Louder
  2. Cathy Oates – Original Matters
  3. Regan Lethbridge & David Morgan Lemon Tree Music
  4. Jaddan and Rachael Comerford – UNIFIED Music Group
  5. Ben Dennis – Myriad Management


Label A&R of the year

  1. Michael Taylor – UMA
  2. Paul Harris – SME
  3. Mark Holland – EMI
  4. Aden Mullens – etc etc
  5. Heath Bradby – WMA


Publishing A&R of the year

  1. Arwen Curson – UMPG
  2. Maree Hamblion – Sony/ATV
  3. Matt Tanner – Native Tongue
  4. Craig Hawker – Sony/ATV
  5. Heath Johns – BMG


Indie label of the year

  1. Golden Era Records
  2. Liberation Records
  3. UNFD
  4. etc etc
  5. Hillsong Music Australia


Music start-up of the year

  1. Playlist Pump
  2. GiggedIn
  3. DISCO
  4. Audience Republic
  5. PopGun


Producer of the year

  1. Andy Mak
  2. Adrian Breakspear
  3. M-Phazes
  4. Trials
  5. Eric Dubowsky


Songwriter of the year

  1. Takudzwa Victoria Rosa Maidza (Tkay Maidza)
  2. Sarah Aarons
  3. Celia Pavey (Vera Blue)
  4. Harley Streten (Flume)
  5. Alex Hope


Artist Development of the year

  1. Michael Taylor for Dean Lewis
  2. Quincy Buchanan for Polish Club
  3. Nate Flagrant for Ruel
  4. Heath Bradby for Kita Alexander
  5. Rob Potts & Kerry Roberts for Morgan Evans


There will also be an award to recognise the most significant contribution to Australian music by commercial radio, to be presented at the awards. 

Official invites will be sent to finalists and TMN premium subscribers from next Monday, December 11.

Congratulations to all 40 finalists. We’ll see you at the TMN Tinnies on Friday, 2 February in Sydney. 


Related articles