The Brag Media ▼
News January 20, 2022

Kate Miller-Heidke, Alex Lahey, Gordi, Birdz, Joel Ma first time nominees in Screen Music Awards

Senior Journalist, B2B
Kate Miller-Heidke, Alex Lahey, Gordi, Birdz, Joel Ma first time nominees in Screen Music Awards
Kate Miller-Heidke

Illustrious rock names were among the 31 first-time nominees in the 2021 Screen Music Awards, announced this morning by organisers APRA AMCOS and the AGSC.

Among them were Kate Miller-Heidke and guitarist husband Keir Nuttall, who wrote ‘Where To Start’ for Australian Red Cross’ The Worst Block in Town campaign.

Miller-Heidke also sang the song which is up for Best Music for an Advertisement.

The animated 2020 campaign was the Australian Red Cross’s first brand campaign in nearly a decade after it experienced its biggest demand for help since World War II.

Most of the rock first-timers were in the Best Original Song Composed For The Screen category.

Alex Lahey

Alex Lahey, Sophie Payten (Gordi) and Gabriel Strum (Japanese Wallpapers) are up for ‘On My Way’ from The Mitchells vs The Machines about a road trip sabotaged by a robot apocalypse.

Nathan Bird (Birdz), Fred Leone and Daniel Rankine (Trials) wrote ‘Bagi-la-m Bargan’ for Looky Looky Here Comes Cooky, which got Briggs’ publishing company Bad Apples Music a nod.

‘Suck My Cherry’ from horror-comedy Freaky was a collab between Hermitude’s Luke Dubber and Angus Stuart, Haiku Hands’ Beatrice Lewis, Claire Nakazawa and Mieh Nakazawa, and Joel Ma.


Singer-songwriter Brontë Horder received two nods this year for Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie (Exposed: The Ghost Train Fire) and Best Original Song Composed for the Screen for ‘Fragile Soul’ from Ellie Was Here about a young woman’s mind fracturing as she wrestles with an ‘ungodly’ love, and the faith that is meant to save her.

Long time nominee Roger Mason also appeared twice on the list for his work on Hungry Ghosts, about an angry spirit lashing out after being disturbed from sleep in the categories of Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie and Best Television Theme.

Leading the nominees for the awards were the more traditional and accomplished screen composers Antony Partos, Michael Yezerski, Cezary Skubiszewski, Adam Gock, and Dinesh Wicks.

APRA AMCOS and the Australian Guild of Screen Composers announce the winners of the 2021 Screen Music Awards on Tuesday, February 22.

In light of the current COVID-19 situation, the live event has been cancelled.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles