The Brag Media
News January 18, 2019

Final three acts announced for Eurovision – Australia Decides

Final three acts announced for Eurovision – Australia Decides

The final three acts for next month’s Eurovision – Australia Decides were announced this morning.

They were The Voice 2016 winner Alfie Arcuri, Ella Hooper of Killing Heidi and Tania Doko of Bachelor Girl.

Doko wrote her entry five years ago with Jennifer Lopez in mind. It was almost used by Baz Luhrmann for The Get Down.

Australian Eurovision organisers wanted her to record it herself.

Doko wrote for former Eurovision winner Mans Zelmerlow representing Sweden, where she now lives.

She says, “This is one of those unplanned, didn’t-see-this-coming little chapter in my career I’m embracing with a sense of adventure and excitement.

“Then, as a songwriter performing a song I co-wrote, there’s the icing on the cake right there!”

Hooper admits, “In recent years I have become more and more fascinated with Eurovision, so it’s perfect timing.”

“It’s an honour to be involved in a competition that celebrates and embraces music and diversity,” notes Arcuri.

The three join Kate Miller-Heidke, Courtney Act, Mark Vincent, Sheppard, Electric Fields, Aydan and Leea Nanos.

They meet on the Gold Coast and vie to represent the country, in a battle broadcast on SBS on February 9.

Also unveiled this morning were five of the songs to be tested before Australia.

Mark Vincent will sing “This Is Not The End” about facing obstacles with persistence and determination. Aydan’s “Dust” is about young love and heartbreak.

16-year-old Nanos’ “Set Me Free” is about empowerment and letting go of self-doubt.

Arcuri’s “To Myself” questions how one could ever doubt their self-worth.

Already released are electric-soul duo Electric Fields’ “2000” about making the most of life, while Courtney Act’s “Fight for Love” was released last month.

Related articles