The Brag Media
News November 13, 2019

‘Inspiring & reaffirming’: Victoria’s Fast Track Fellowship returns

‘Inspiring & reaffirming’: Victoria’s Fast Track Fellowship returns
Rhianon Damas, Danae Effern

The Fast Track Fellowship, set up to provide Victorian music artist managers and independent labels with overseas professional skills-development, has opened.

The scheme is run by the Victorian Music Development Office, in partnership with the Australian Independent Record Labels Association and Association of Artist Managers.

Selected recipients will relocate to an international music company of their choice for two months to immerse themselves in its culture, and to develop contacts for future business making.

Danae Effern of Little Giant Agency was placed at ATC Management, London from April to June this year. She called the stay “an invaluable experience”.

“Being based in London and spending time in Europe allowed me to build many new connections and gain greater insight into the industry in the UK and Europe.

“Sitting among the many managers at ATC Management, who oversee the careers of artists such as PJ Harvey and Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds as well as many, many others was truly inspiring and reaffirming.”

Rhianon Damas, Two Shoes Records, who this year was placed at Nettwerk Music Group (Canada and Germany), echoes similar sentiments.

“The program was a truly exceptional way to quickly build knowledge and new strategy, develop new networks, and create international business opportunities.

“On a personal level was a truly life-changing chapter in my career, with open access to global ideas and strategy, and creation of new skills that are harder to learn from a traditional education model.”

The Fast Track Fellowship program includes return flights, visas and insurance as well as financial support for accommodation, on-ground logistics, per diems and registration fees for professional industry events.

The two 2020 recipients will be selected by an independent industry-based advisory panel.

Applications open this morning and close Monday, January 13.

Past recipients included Tom Fraser (Pieater), Amy Chapman (Wantok Musik), Charlotte Abroms (Hear Hear Music) and Guy Blackman (Chapter Music)

Related articles