The Brag Media
News December 5, 2019

Electric Fields named 2019 Live Act of the Year at live music awards

Electric Fields named 2019 Live Act of the Year at live music awards

Indigenous music duo Electric Fields have won the prestigious National Live Music Award for Live Act of the Year for 2019 (presented by APRA AMCOS).

Musicians gathered in at eight separate but simultaneous events for the NLMAs overnight, and Electric Fields took out the big one, as well as the award for Best Live Electronic Act.

The band’s vocalist Zaachariaha Fielding was awarded Live Voice of the Year (presented by Panhead Custom Ales).

Mojo Juju also took home multiple awards, including R&B/Soul Live Act of the Year and Best Live Act in Victoria, presented by SYN.

As did Tropical Fuck Storm. Drummer Lauren Hammel and Guitarist Erica Dunn won instrumentalist awards. For the first time, the four instrumentalist awards were won exclusively by female musos.

Events to win more than one gong included music festival Dark Mofo which took out Best Live Event in Australia and Tasmania, and Falls Festival, taking Best Live Event in Victoria and also winning the All Ages Achievement trophy for Tasmania.

NLMAs stalwarts Gang Of Youths and Stella Donnelly added to their haul from recent years, and emerging act Glitoris won Hard Rock Live Act, beating the fancied competition.

The biggest award of the night, the NLMA, went to Leanne de Souza, recognising her work for three years as head of the Association of Artist Managers.

Michelle Grace Hunder was named Live Music Photographer of the Year. She accepted the award from Dublin with fellow winner Ruel. She said she hoped the win “inspired other young female music photographers to go out there and kick some goals.”

Deborah Conway was inducted as an NLMAs Live Legend.

Deb Conway / Supplied

“We were thrilled tonight to welcome a thousand people around Australia to showcase some of the best live music in the country, and celebrate the industry for the fourth consecutive year. I feel both the judges – and the general public who were given more control this year than ever before – made some incredible choices,” said NLMAs director Larry Heath.

“You’ll agree with some, and you won’t agree with others – but we can all agree that this pool of talent is to be envied the world over.”

Member Damien Cunningham added; “Yet again through the nominees and winners tonight we have seen the overwhelming talent that Australia has to offer!

“It is fantastic to see such great acts as Electric Fields, Mojo Juju, Stella Donnelly, Sampa the Great and Tones and I to win awards tonight.

“The awards really covers all area of live music from the new emerging acts like Jack Davies & The Bush Chooks and A. Swayze and The Ghosts through to Deborah Conway who is honoured as a live legend!”

The full list of winners is available here.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles