News July 25, 2016

$25k on offer through Grant McLennan Fellowship

Charts & New Music Editor

Nominations for the prestigious Grant McLennan Fellowship have opened for 2016.

The Fellowship, which is jointly funded by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and APRA AMCOS, was founded in 2008 in honour of the late Grant McLennan, an influential songwriter and co-frontman of The Go-Betweens.

With previous winners of the Fellowship including Timothy Steward and Thomas Calder, the 2016 award is sure to attract a host of up and coming local talent who have the chance to receive a $25,000 fellowship grant, awarding the recipient the opportunity to travel abroad for up to six months.

The recipient will be able to experience the benefits of immersing themselves in a foreign and vibrant musical culture, enabling them to further develop their artistic skills. 

The travel destinations include New York, London or Berlin, with all three cities having special significance to Grant’s life. 2016 marks the 10th anniversary of Grant’s passing and the ninth year since the Fellowship’s inception, a growing legacy that each new recipient can benefit from and contribute to.

Dean Ormston, Head of Member Services at APRA AMCOS, sees the Fellowship as an opportunity to pay tribute to Grant’s life and musical career.

“We’re really pleased to be able to recognise Grant’s songwriting and ongoing influence through this fellowship. He holds a very important place in Australia’s songwriting history,” he said.

Applications for the 2016 Grant McLennan Fellowship are now open for individual songwriters and songwriting duos. In order to be considered for the Fellowship, all applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Reside in Queensland and be an Australian citizen or permanent resident
  • Be 21 years of age or older
  • Be a member of APRA AMCOS
  • Have satisfied the reporting requirements of any previous Arts Queensland grants
  • Have an ABN
  • Only submit one application in each round (e.g. songwriting duos may not also submit individual applications). 

Applications close on Monday 19 September with the winner to be announced in December.

Head to for full eligibility requirements and guidelines.

Related articles