The Brag Media
News November 12, 2018

Diversity on the dial as 2018 CBAA community radio award winners announced

Diversity on the dial as 2018 CBAA community radio award winners announced

The diversity that Australia’s community radio sector emphasises as a keystone of its contribution was on display at the 2018 Community Radio Awards.

More so as 12 new categories were added in 2018 to a total of 34 across 33 categories – the year which saw community radio listenership hit a new record.

The awards were held on Saturday night at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre at the tail end of the sector’s annual conference.

Special achievement award went to John Maizels, who’s been involved in the sector for 40 years, and currently president of Technorama, which provides support, education and training and collegiate activity.

Technorama expands the horizons of its members and is inclusive of radio technologists and those for whom radio technology is important.

Faten El Dana OAM and Sydney-based Muslim station 2MFM also received an accolade for its vision, strength of management, creative programming and benefit to its community.

“It’s been fantastic to recognise more achievements than ever before in 2018,” said Community Broadcasting Association of Australia CEO John Bisset.

“The work of the winners is a glimpse into impact of community radio and what it is that the 5.7 million listeners across the country tune in for each week.

“These programs, stations and people play a role in giving Australian communities access to rich, diverse, participatory and reflective media, strengthening communities and providing a platform for important conversations within and between them. Congratulations all!”


National Documentary and Features Competition: The Runners’ Guide – Katharina Loesche, 4EB

Best Station Production: National Documentary and Features Competition: The Runners’ Guide – Katharina Loesche, 4EB

Best Station Production: Passing on Wisdom: Jason’s Diabetes Story (Radio MAMA (Midwest Aboriginal Media Association,) Geraldton, WA)

Best Station Fundraising Campaign: Your Voice for Hope Appeal – June 2017 (Light FM 89.9, Melbourne)

Best Station Fundraising Campaign – Small Station: Radiothon Month (MAINfm 94.9, Castlemaine, VIC):

Best New Radio Program: Rainbow KINection (Noongar Radio 100.9 FM, Perth)

Best Radio Program – Music: Top 100 Indigenous Songs of All Time (3KND 1503 AM, Melbourne)

Best Radio Program – Talk: Talk the Talk (RTRFM 92.1, Perth)

Excellence In Training: 3PVR Plenty Valley FM 88.6, Melbourne

Contribution to Australian Music – Radio Program: Breaking Bands (2RRR 88.5 FM, Henley, NSW) TIED with Definition Radio (1WAY FM 91.9, Canberra)

Outstanding Youth Contribution: Catherine Webb (SYN Media 90.7 FM, Melbourne / Gippsland FM 104.7, Morwell, VIC)

Outstanding Volunteer Contribution: Matoc Achol (3ZZZ 92.3 FM, Melbourne)

Excellence in Technical Services: Richard Fleming (2ser 107.3, Sydney)

Excellence in Technical Innovation: Gerard Pyne (QRAM, QLD)

Contribution to Australian Music- Initiative: Tracks (FBi Radio 94.5 FM, Sydney)

Excellence In Journalism: Mia Armitage (Bay FM 99.9, Byron Bay)

Excellence In Indigenous Engagement: Wangki Radio, 936 AM, Fitzroy Crossing, WA

Excellence In Indigenous Broadcasting: Marion Cheedy’s Juluwarlu Gems (Ngaarda Radio, Roeburne, WA)

Excellence In Ethnic and Multicultural Engagement: 4EB FM 98.1, Brisbane

Excellence In Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasting: Sri Lankan Show (3MDR 97.1 FM, Melbourne)

Excellence In Community Engagement: 4MBS 103.7 F M, Brisbane

Excellence In News & Current Affairs Programming: Another World (Eastside 89.7 FM, Sydney)

Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming: Sunday Sports Round Up (Alive 90.5 FM, Baulkham Hills, NSW)

Excellence In Creative Audio: The Tourist (Vision Australia Radio 990 AM, Perth)

Excellence In Innovative Programming and Content: TGIYES (FBi Radio 94.5 FM, Sydney)

Excellence in Music Presenting: Jason Heath (JOY 94.9 FM, Melbourne,)

Excellence In Digital Media: The View From Here – Fremantle Series (RTRFM 92.1, Perth)

Best Online Content: Slightly Odway (RTRFM 92.1, Perth)

Excellence in Outside Broadcasting: Carols In The Park (Hills Radio 88.9 FM, Mount Barker, SA)

Best Special Event Broadcast: JB Tribute (Noongar Radio 100.9 FM, Perth)

Outstanding Small Station Award: Alpine Radio 96.5 FM, Mount Beauty, VIC

Station Leadership Award: Melanie Withnall (2ser 107.3 FM, Sydney)

Tony Staley Award: 2MFM Muslim Community Radio 92.1, Sydney

Michael Law Award: John Maizels


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles