The Brag Media
News August 27, 2020

Art Music Awards reveal performers and Richard Gill Award winner

Art Music Awards reveal performers and Richard Gill Award winner
Dr Ros Bandt

The Art Music Awards have announced a lineup of presenters and performers as well as the winner of the Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music.

Multi-skilled instrumentalist and artist Dr Ros Bandt has been named as the recipient of the coveted honour and will be recognised at the virtual ceremony on September 8.

The program has been curated by musical director Barney McAll with performances by finalists Robin Fox & Erkki Veltheim (Work of the Year: Electroacoustic/Sound Art).

Percussionist Louise Devenish (Performance of the Year: Notated Composition) and composer & bassist Linda May Han Oh (Work of the Year: Jazz) will also perform.

Feature poetry slam champion Melanie Mununggurr-Williams and multi-talented producer Beatrice Lewis will close the evening, which will all be streamed live on YouTube.

The ceremony will be co-hosted by comedian and actor Jonathan Biggins with acclaimed musicians Dr Lou Bennett AM and ARIA-nominated pianist Zela Margossian.

Jonathan Biggins on set at the of 2020 Art Music Awards.

Bandt will be recognised for her unique and globally recognised body of work over four decades, with some 40 major installations, sound sculptures and numerous collaborations.

“I am honoured and privileged to receive this award. It belongs to all Australians, old and new, who have dared to ‘sound spaces’ together in this ancient, sung land,” Bandt said.

“The acoustic resonance of all we do is a barometer of Australian culture, presences, absences, reaching back into the dreamtime, an evolving consciousness of deep time.

The Art Music Awards will stream on YouTube on Tuesday, September 8 at 7pm (AEST).

Related articles