The Brag Media
News August 11, 2020

APRA AMCOS reveals 2020 Art Music Awards finalists

APRA AMCOS reveals 2020 Art Music Awards finalists

APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre have revealed the 2020 Art Music Awards finalists, ahead of the event that will take place virtually in September.

The lineup of finalists which includes Cat Hope, Julian Day, Amanda Cole, Linda May Han Oh, Netanela Mizrahi & Guwanbal Gurruwiwi has been described by APRA and AMC as the most vibrant lineup of short-listed artists, works and performances in the history of the awards.

2020 saw a record number of nominations, with 278 received across 13 national categories ahead of the annual event celebrating achievements in the fields of composition, performance, education and presentation of Australian art music.

The winners will be announced on Tuesday, September 8 with the ceremony kicking off at 7.00pm AEST and streaming on the APRA AMCOS YouTube channel.

Organisers noted that a significant number of emerging composers from all over the country are making their mark in this year’s list of finalists, with plenty of nominees coming from outside metropolitan centres.

In 2020 awards will be given out for the following categories: Work Of The Year – Choral, Work Of The Year – Dramatic, Work Of The Year – Jazz, Work Of The Year – Large Ensemble, Work Of The Year – Chamber Music, Work Of The Year – Electroacoustic/Sound Art, Work Of The Year – Jazz/Improvised Music and Performance Of The Year – Notated Composition.

There are also gongs for Excellence In Music Education, Excellence In A Regional Area, and Excellence in Experimental Music.

“It is the works and artists within the categories and on the shortlists, however, that reveal the sheer breadth of expression and creative vision in the art music community today,” said APRA AMCOS and AMC in a press release.

The 2020 Art Music Awards ceremony will also include numerous new Luminary Awards, recognising sustained contributions by individuals and organisations.

There are no shortlists in these categories.

The Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music will also be presented, as decided by the APRA Board of Directors.

The full list of finalists is available to view now.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles