The Brag Media
News February 6, 2020

Tones And I, Kevin Parker, King Gizzard & more up for APRA Song of The Year

Tones And I, Kevin Parker, King Gizzard & more up for APRA Song of The Year

Tones And I could add the APRA Song of the Year to her bulging trophy cabinet. But she’s got company.

The rights society today unveils the top 25 songs in the hunt for the coveted category, with the winner announced during the 2020 APRA Awards in Sydney.

It’s a list with something for everyone, led by Tones And I’s monster hit ‘Dance Monkey,’ the eight-times platinum song which led the ARIA Singles Chart for a record-smashing 24-weeks.

Tones’ nomination comes in the same week the former busker cracked APRA AMCOS’ The 1,000,000,000 List.

Also making the peer-voted line-up is Guy Sebastian’s ARIA Award-winner ‘Choir’; Kevin Parker’s ‘Borderline,’ lifted from Tame Impala’s upcoming album The Slow Rush; Kate Miller-Heidke’s Eurovision 2019 entrant ‘Zero Gravity,’ legendary indigenous singer Archie Roach’s ‘Open Up Your Eyes,’ ARIAs winners the Teskey Brothers’ ‘I Get Up,’ NME darling Stella Donnelly’s ‘Old Man,’ Flume’s triple j Hottest 100 top 5 hit ‘Rushing Back’ featuring Vera Blue,’ and psychedelic rock wizards King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard’s ‘Self-Immolate.’

Kate Miller-Heidke red background

Kate Miller-Heidke

Among the first-time Song of the Year nominees are Grace Shaw (aka Mallrat), Jessica Mauboy, the members of U.S. chart champs 5 Seconds of Summer, and veteran Melbourne indie-rock outfit The Underground Lovers.

The big winner will be announced during the 38th annual APRA Awards, set to take place April 28 at the International Convention Centre Grand Ballroom on Darling Harbour.

5sos at 2018 arias red carpet

5 Seconds Of Summer. Credit Ash Mar

The prestigious award is voted on by APRA songwriter and publisher members.

Every vote cast is a chance to win a prize pack worth more than $3,000 which includes a Shure microphone and headphone package, a Showgroup Travel voucher, freebie concert tickets from Frontier Touring/Chugg Entertainment and a pair of tickets to the APRAs.

Check out the 2020 APRA Song of the Year nominees below.

Arrows – [Missy Higgins] – Missy Higgins
Better In Blak – [Thelma Plum] – Thelma Plum / Alexander Burnett / Oliver Horton
Borderline – [Tame Impala] – Kevin Parker
By The Scars – [Diesel] – Mark Lizotte
Charlie – [Mallrat] – Grace Shaw / Leroy Clampitt
Choir – [Guy Sebastian] – Guy Sebastian / Trevor Brown / William Simmons
Dance Monkey – [Tones And I] – Toni Watson
Every Day My Mother’s Voice – [Paul Kelly & Dan Sultan] – Paul Kelly
Exit Sign (Ft Illy And Ecca Vandal) – [Hilltop Hoods] – Barry Francis (Dj Debris) / Daniel Smith (Mc Pressure)/ Matthew Lambert (Suffa)/ Sarah Aarons / Andrew Burford / Alasdair Murray (Illy)
Fear Of Missing Out – [Ainslie Wills] – Ainslie Wills / Paul Dempsey / Lawrence Folvig / Arron Light
Final Form – [Sampa The Great] – Sampa Tembo / Alejandro Abapo / Leon Sylvers
Good Lord – [Birds Of Tokyo] – Ian Berney / Ian Kenny / Glenn Sarangapany / Adam Spark / Adam Weston
I Get Up – [The Teskey Brothers] – Josh Teskey / Sam Teskey / Liam Gough / Brendon Love
Little Things – [Jessica Mauboy] – Jessica Mauboy / Antonio Egizii / Chiara Hunter / David Musumeci
Miss Shiney – [Kaiit] – Kaiit Waup / Vincent Goodyer / Nicholas Martin
Old Man – [Stella Donnelly] – Stella Donnelly
Open Up Your Eyes – [Archie Roach] – Archie Roach
Paradise – [Tropical Fuck Storm] – Erica Dunn / Gareth Liddiard / Fiona Kitchin / Lauren Hammel
Pasta – [Angie Mcmahon] – Angie McMahon
Pressure To Party – [Julia Jacklin] – Julia Jacklin
Rushing Back – [Flume Ft Vera Blue] – Harley Streten / Celia Pavey / Sophie Cates / Eric Dubowsky
Self-Immolate – [King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard] – Stuart Mackenzie / Michael Cavanagh / Joseph Walker
Seven Day Weekend – [Underground Lovers] – Richard Andrew / Maurice Argiro / Glenn Bennie / Vincent Giarrusso / Phillipa Nihill
Teeth – [5 Seconds Of Summer] – Luke Hemmings / Ashton Irwin / Louis Bell / Gillian Gilbert / Peter Hook / Stephen Morris / Evan Rogers / Carl Sturken / Bernard Sumner / Ali Tamposi / Ryan Tedder / Andrew Watt
Zero Gravity – [Kate Miller-Heidke] – Kate Miller-Heidke / Julian Hamilton / Keir Nuttal

Stream the top 25 playlists below on Spotify and Apple Music.

This article originally appeared on The Industry Observer, which is now part of The Music Network.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles