The Brag Media ▼
News February 13, 2018

The Industry Observer Awards 2018 Shortlist

The Industry Observer
The Industry Observer Awards 2018 Shortlist

The Shortlist for the inaugural The Industry Observer Awards presented by TicketWeb has been revealed to celebrate the talent behind the talent.

Taking place at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Tuesday March 27, 2018, the Awards will recognise the incredible industry figures in Australasia, covering management, publishing, publicity, community radio and more.

The Industry Observer Awards 2018 Shortlist:

Guardian of the Year

Alana Dow [Jai Waetford]

Jai and his mother Alana Dow

Tara Hart


Shaun & Laurelle Mellet

Troye Sivan's parents

Anthony Sultana

Ralph Van Dijk

Ralph Van Dijk

Festival Of The Year

A WEEKEND In The Gardens


Caloundra Music Festival

Groovin the Moo

Hot Dub Wine Machine


Splendour In The Grass

UNIFY Festival

Yours & Owls Festival

Community Radio Host of the Year

Al Grigg

Brooke Olsen (FBi Radio & previously Amrap)

Caitlin Nienaber (RTRFM 92.1)

Chris Berkley (Static 2Ser)

Chris Twite (FBi Radio)

Danny Chifley

Dave ‘Higgo’ Higgins

Jakob Rosenblatt

Julie Reynolds

Simon Winkler & Lauren Taylor (Triple R)

Stephanie Latella

Stephen Walker

Willem Hendriksen

Vickiree Melouney

Radio Host of the Year

Ash London (SCA)

Ben and Liam (triple j)

Byron Cooke (SCA)

Kyle & Jackie O (KIIS)

Mike E & Emma (ARN)

Kent Andrew “Smallzy” (Nova)

 Music Lawyer of the Year

Gordon Pitt

Michael Easton

Michael Easton

Marcus Fowler

Julian Hewitt

Julian Hewitt

Stephen King

Stephen King

Adrian McGruther

Adrian McGruther

Damian Rinaldi

Damian Rinaldi

David Vodicka

David Vodicka

Music Retailer of the Year

Apple Music




Marketing Manager/Director of the Year

Ben Martin (Golden Era Records)

Craig Redfearn (BMG Australia)

Mardi Caught

Huw Araniego-ellis (Warner Music)

Kimberley Galceran (Bluesfest)

Nicole Richards (Universal Music)

Petrina Convey (Sony Music)

Rusty Thorpe (Bluesfest)

Wayne Ringrow (Sony Music)

Viktoria Juryga (Universal Music)

Music Retailer of the Year

Beatdisc Records

Crackle and Pop Records

Dada Records

Greville Records

Mojo Record Bar

Poison City Records

Pony Music

Red Eye Records

The Basement Discs

The Record Store

Thornbury Records

Executive of the Year

Brett Cottle (APRA AMCOS)

Dean Ormston (APRA AMCOS)

Dean Ormston apra amcos CEO

Heath Johns (BMG Australia)

Jacqui Louez-Schoorl (Jaxsta)

Jaddan Comerford (UNIFIED Music Group)

John O Donnell (EMI Music)

Michael Gudinski (Mushroom Group)

Black & white close up image of man leaning against a brick wall

Michael Taylor (Universal Music)

Susan Heymann (Chugg Entertainment)

Publisher A&R of the Year

Craig Hawker (Sony/ATV)

Leonie & Robert Conley (Specific Music)

Maree Hamblion (Sony/ATV)

Amy Jarman (BMG Australia)

Erol Yurdagul (Mushroom Group)

Simon Moor (Kolbalt Music)

Boutique Festival of the Year

A Festival Called Panama

Beyond The Valley

Grow Your Own Festival

Lost Paradise

MTV Australia – Beats and Eats

Mullum Music Festival


Sounds Of The Suburbs

Subsonic Music Festival

Sugar Mountain

The Hills Are Alive

The Industry Impact Award

Adam Briggs (AB Original/Briggs/Bad Apples)

Erica Hart (QLD Music Festival)

Maggie Collins (Bigsound)

Michelle Grace-Hunder & Claudia Sangiorgi Dalimore (Her Sound, Her Story Project)

Michael Chugg (Chugg Entertainment)

Milly Petriella (APRA AMCOS)

Stacey Piggott, Rhett McLaren, Alycia Emmerson & Emma Thornton (Your Choice)

Stephen Walker (3RRR)

Pixie Weyand


Vicki Gordon (Vicki Gordon Music Productions)

Manager of the Year

Aaron Girgis (Space 44)

Andrew Stone (Chugg Music)

Brent ‘Quincy’ Buchanan (Universal Music)

Clara Iaccarino (MAKEbeLIVE Productions)

Gregg Donovan & Stu MacQueen (Wonderlick)

Jaddan and Rachel Comerford (UNIFIED Music Group)

Kurt Bailey (Mirror Music Group)

mirror music group director and gang of youths manager kurt bailey

Nathan Flack (Flagrant Artists)

Phil Stevens (Jarrah Records)

Regan Lethbridge & David Morgan (Lemon Tree Music)

Niriko McLure (Wonder / 1825 Records)

Publicist of the Year

Amy Simmons (UNIFIED Music Group)

Anna Fitzgerald (TMRW Music)

Bronwyn Tasker (Sony Music)

Chris Maric (Maric Media)

Ella Cochrane (Mushroom Group)

Emily Cheung (On The Map PR)

Genna Alexopoulos (Super Duper)

Natalie Files (The PR Files)

Rachel Jones-Williams (Caroline Australia)

Samantha Anschau (Beehive PR)

Sarah Guppy (This Much Talent)

Stephen Green (SGC Media)

Record Label A&R of the Year

Coco Eke (Bad Apples)

Damian Slevison (Mushroom Group)

Heath Bradbury (Warner Music)

Johann Ponniah (I Oh You)

John Mullen (Dew Process)

Luke Logemann (UNIFIED Music Group)

Mark Holland (EMI Music)

Michael Taylor (Universal Music)

Paul Harris (Sony Music)

Robert Rigby (Sony Music)

Stu MacQueen (Wonderlick)

Booking Agent of the Year

Casey O’Shaughnessy (Select Music)

Joel Siviour (Falcona)

Guven Yilmaz (Vita Artists)

Edwin Tehrani (New World Artists)

Stephen Wade (Select Music)

Jeremy Sharp (Harbour Agency)

Harry Moore (123 Agency)

Evan Davis (Village Sounds)

Katie Rynne (Select Music)

Damian Costin (123 Agency)

Brett Murrihy William Morris Endeavor Entertainment (WME)

:: The Industry Observer Awards: How the judging works

The winners of the awards will be announced at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Tuesday, March 27, 2018. Tickets to the TIO Awards will be sold on a first-come, first-served basis. Attendance is open to the general public and industry alike.


This article originally appeared on The Industry Observer, which is now part of The Music Network.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles