News June 2, 2016

The Avalanches release first new music in 16 years

The Avalanches release first new music in 16 years


Following an unprecedented sixteen-year gap between albums and all the revolutions the world has made since the release of their hugely acclaimed, award winning debut album Since I Left You (2000), The Avalanches today announce details of their new album Wildflower to be released on July 8 and available for pre-order now.



A photo posted by The Avalanches (@theavalanches) on



Created by the band’s core duo – Robbie Chater and Tony Di BlasiWildflower is nothing less than The Beach Boys’ Smile re-imagined in the Daisy Age – a mind-bending cartoon road movie that’s best viewed with closed eyes and an open mind. The Avalanches spoke with Zane Lowe on Apple Music Beats 1 in a world first interview about the new album today. Listen to the interview HERE.

The first single Frankie Sinatra, just premiered on triple j, draws from a variety of eras, cultures and genres, and exemplifies the rich tapestry of samples and sonics that is distinctly The Avalanches. An infectious old world carnival inspired roller-coaster of a song – featuring Danny Brown and MF Doom on vocals, the song also includes works by calypsonian Wilmoth Houdini and Rodgers & Hammerstein.

:: Watch the video for Frankie Sinatra here

The video for Frankie Sinatra was directed by Fleur & Manu (Drake, A$AP Rocky, M83, Movement, Canyons, Skrillex) and shot on location in the bayou of New Orleans, drawing inspiration from southern swamp culture. Follow the tripped out adventures of the carny locals at the county fair as they consume hallucinogenic ice-cream and lose control of reality.

In the years since the release of Since I Left You , the album has established a rarely seen loyalty, its influence ever growing in the age of digital music, sampling and bedroom producers. The Avalanches, meanwhile, have become the stuff of folklore, with rumours abounding about a long awaited follow-up record. Well, today that rumouring ends…


Wildflower – Track Listing

1. The Leaves Were Falling
2. Because I’m Me
3. Frankie Sinatra
4. Subways
5. Going Home
6. If I Was A Folkstar
7. Colours
8. Zap!
9. Noisy Eater
10. Wildflower
11. Harmony
12. Live A Lifetime Love
13. Park Music
14. Livin’ Underwater (Is Somethin’ Wild)
15. The Wozard Of Iz
16. Over The Turnstiles
17. Sunshine
18. Light Up
19. Kaleidoscopic Lovers
20. Stepkids
21. Saturday Night Inside Out


Related articles