The Brag Media
News March 3, 2020

Seaforth collect breakthrough award at APRA’s first Nashville soiree

Former Assistant Editor
Seaforth collect breakthrough award at APRA’s first Nashville soiree
Seaforth / by Rachel Deeb

Aussie country-duo Seaforth was one of several Aussie acts recognised at the Global APRA Music Awards in Nashville overnight.

Mitchell Thompson and Thomas Jordan won Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year Nashville, with the award presented by Brian Cadd to the duo for a huge year which saw them release their breakout single ‘Love That’ and EP of the same name.

The Nashville awards were the third stop of the Global APRA Awards, following ceremonies in LA and London over the past week or so, with the evening hosted by Mark and Jay O’Shea.

Others to receive awards included Rick Price, who won the Overseas Recognition Award after what felt like a lifetime after winning the 1992 APRA Song of the Year for ‘Heaven Knows’. The award was presented by Kylie Sackley and Lindsay Rimes.

On a night that celebrated Australia’s continued foray into the global country market, Morgan Evans collected the award for Outstanding International Achievement.

The award was presented by Chris DeStefano, who originally recognised Evans at a Songhubs Songwriting Camp, and also collaborated with him on ‘Day Drunk’.

The Distinguished Services Award went to renowned guitarist/songwriter Tommy Emmanuel, who after an incredible career is also one of just a few Certified Guitar Players in the world, as named by his hero Chet Atkins.

Dean Ormston & Tommy Emmanuel / by Rachel Deeb

The night wrapped with Songwriter of the Year Nashville being awarded to Phil Barton, presented by Grammy-winner Liz Rose.

Barton has lived in Nashville since 2005, and in that time written hits with Lee Brice, Sara Evans, David Nail and Morgan Evans, and become known for ushering in the next generating of country stars (American Young, Catherine McGrath, Kalsey Kulyk).

The evening also saw performances by Nashville-based Aussies Dozzi and Seaforth with Barton.

“It’s wonderful to celebrate the nominees, performers, presenters, and our special honourees with the Nashville community, a community of songwriters,” said APRA chair Jenny MOrris.

APRA AMCOS chief executive Dean Ormstron added; “A lot of our members work behind-the-scenes crafting songs day in and day out, playing a vital role in the Nashville music ecosystem, and we’re here to acknowledge all the hard work and artistry you contribute.

“And we will go home and share the stories of your achievements.”


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles