News October 11, 2018

Five more names for South Australia’s Hall of Fame

Five more names for South Australia’s Hall of Fame
Image: The Twilights

Five more names will be added to the South Australian Hall of Fame at a ceremony in Adelaide’s German Club on November 2.

They are The Twilights, Bobby Bright, James Black, Rob Pippan and the late Laurie Pryor.

The Twilights were one of the biggest Australian bands in the 1960s, best known for tracks like Needle In A Haystack’ What’s Wrong with the Way I Live’ 9.50 and Cathy Come Home.

The band launched the careers of two future global names, Glenn Shorrock of Little River Band (and before that, Axiom) and guitarist Terry Britten who went on to write or co-write Tina Turner’s What’s Love Got To Do With It and We Don’t Need Another Hero, Cliff Richard’s Carrie and Devil Woman, Hall & Oates’ Give It Up, and recordings by Lenny Kravitz, Meat Loaf, Anita Baker, The Divinyls and Bonnie Raitt

Heavily inspired by The Beatles, they moved to Melbourne, had four hits in five months and journeyed to London where they recorded at Abbey Road Studios.

The Twilights also filmed a pilot for their own sitcom loosely based on The Monkees.

Bobby Bright started out as a solo act before moving to Melbourne where he teamed up with Laurie Allen.

Bobby & Laurie’s run of hits included the #1 Hitchhiker and they got their own show It’s A Gas.

After their split, Bright pursued a career in cabaret, acting, was a 3XY radio presenter and wrote jingles.

Multi-instrumentalist James Black, best known today as music director of the Rockwiz Orkestra, started out in Adelaide bands Tidewater and Rum Jungle, then joined the Russell Morris Band and Mondo Rock, and toured with Men At Work.

As a much-in-demand session player, he worked on Skyhooks’ Million Dollar Riff and GANGajang ‘s Sounds of Then (This is Australia), among hundreds of hits.

Rob Pippan has worked in the Australian music industry for over 40 years, as a musical director, lead guitarist (founder of one of the first tribute bands, The Zep Boys), songwriter, whose collaborators included Doc Neeson of The Angels producer, TV producer manager, educator and studio owner.

Laurie Pryor’s posthumous induction recognises a prodigious drummer who joined The Twilights and studio band The Pastoral Symphony and in the ‘70s formed Healing Force (Golden Miles) and played in Chain.

Pryor died in 2010.

Related articles