The Brag Media ▼
News November 8, 2022

Elsy Wameyo Hits 2022 South Australia Music Awards for Six

Senior Journalist, B2B
Elsy Wameyo Hits 2022 South Australia Music Awards for Six

With six nominations, Elsy Wameyo is in the box seat for the 2022 South Australian Music Awards, set for Nov. 17 at Hindley Street Music Hall.

Announced today (Nov. 8), Elsy is shortlisted for best song (“River Nile”), best release (Nilotoc EP), best solo artist, best music video (“Nilotoc” — directed by Elsy Wameyo and Richard Coburn), and for the People’s Choice Award for hip-hop artist of the year.

The Kenyan-born, Adelaide-raised singer, rapper and producer is also a finalist in the industry awards for best studio engineer/producer, making her the only artist this time to earn nods for her work in front of and behind the mic.

Wameyo’s top billing at the 2022 SAM Awards follows her Nilotic Tour in August and September, during which she presented her debut EP Nilotic to national audiences for the first time.

The trailing pack at the SAM Awards is led by Nukunu musician Tilly Tjala Thomas and Electric Fields, both scooping nominations in four categories.

Also, hometown punk-rock outfit LOLA lands chances for best release (“Don’t Tell My Mum”), best new artist, best music video (“What’s The Point” — directed by Jed Newton) and a People’s Choice Award for punk artist of the year,

With a hattrick of nominations are the Empty Threats and TOWNS; while Teenage Joans, performers at the 2022 AIR Awards, also in the SA capital, and seven time-winners at the 2021 SAM Awards, are up for best song (“Terrible”) and best music video.

“The depth of the finalists announced for the SAM Awards today is a testament to the health and strength of the South Australian music community,” comments MusicSA CEO Christine Schloithe.

Across all “genres and industry fields,” notes Schloithe, “the South Australian music sector is challenging the industry leaders and the rest of the country is taking notice.”

An initiative of trade body MusicSA, the SAM Awards slot into the Hindley Street venue for the first time.

HSMH, a venture of Secret Sounds, LN, local live entertainment specialists Five Four Entertainment, and the team behind Brisbane’s Fortitude Music Hall and The Triffid, had its grand opening in September, following a $6 million renovation.

Adds Schloithe, “this 2022 SAM Awards is set to be the biggest awards yet and will offer the local industry a chance to come together and celebrate the past 12 months of music in our great state.

Awards are split into three categories.

The “Major Awards” are selected by a music industry panel, including Triple J host Declan Byrne and rocker Sarah McLeod; the “Industry Awards” focus on the roles within the industry that are adjacent to bands and artists, including festivals, venues and managers; and the People’s Choice Awards invite the wider Australian music community to select their favourite South Australian artist.

The music industry is “a vital part of our economy and it suffered through the pandemic,” comments Premier of South Australia, Peter Malinauska.

The South Australian music industry is “leading the way on the COVID bounce back and its economic impact is a true result of the community’s resolve and commitment,” adds Malinauska, pointing out his government’s own commitment which includes $10 million invested in grants and vouchers to help facilitate live performances. 

Visit for more.

2022 Major Award Finalists

Best Song

Elsy Wameyo – River Nile

Horror My Friend – Devotion

Teenage Joans – Terrible

Tilly Tjala Thomas – Ngai Yurlku Nhiina

TOWNS – Season 5 (Break My Fall)

WANDERERS – Nothing In This World

Best New Artist

Ethanol Blend


Molly Rocket

The Vains


Best Regional Artist

Ella & Sienna

Ellen Tefanis



Tilly Tjala Thomas

Best Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Artist


Electric Fields


Rob Edwards

Tilly Tjala Thomas

Best Group

Electric Fields



The Empty Threats


Best Solo Artist

Elsy Wameyo

Jess Day

Lucas Day


Tilly Tjala Thomas

Best Release

LOLA – Don’t Tell My Mum

The Empty Threats – The Empty Threats



2022 Industry Award Finalists

Best Studio

Cactus Cactus Sound

Matrix Recording Studio

Palomino Sound Recorders

Songbird Society

Wundenberg’s Recording Studio

Best Studio Engineer / Producer

Elsy Wameyo

Kiah Gossner

Lewis Wundenberg

Mario Späte

Ryan Martin John

Best Live Technician

Lachlan Sheehan

Luke Hancock

Michael Wickens

Nathan D’Agostino

Ryan Martin John

Best Venue

Grace Emily Hotel


Lion Arts Factory

The Wheatsheaf Hotel

Unibar ADL

Best Regional Venue/Activation

Adelaide Guitar Festival

Big Easy Radio

Nautilus Arts Centre – SALT Stage

Space Jams – Robe

The Three Brothers Arms

Best Major Festival / Event

Adelaide Beer & BBQ Festival

Day Dance

Froth & Fury Fest

Spin Off Festival

Best Small Festival / Event

Half Strange Festival 5

PAK Music Live at Wundenbergs

SALT Festival 

Skate Daze – On The Flip Side

Space Jams

Best Manager

Alexandra Karatassa (Five Four Entertainment)

Rachel Whitford (27 Music)

Sebastian James (27 Music)

Sian Walden (Little Acorn Music)

Sue Germein

Best Cover Art

Harrison Tomlian – Olyan (Outer)

Kyle Woodman – The Vains (Pussy Power)

Paloma Ellery – SONS OF ZÖKU (SÜN)

 Tobin Lush – Jen Lush (Let Loose The Beating Birds)

Zinia King – The Cortex Shift (Magic Bearded Chicken Subverts The System)

Best Music Video

Conor Mercury/House of Spaghetti – The Empty Threats (K)

Elsy Wameyo & Richard Coburn – Elsy Wameyo (Nilotic)

Jack Bielby – Electric Fields (Catastrophe)

Jed Newton – LOLA (What’s The Point)

Lemonade City – Teenage Joans (Terrible)

Tobin Lush – Jen Lush (Let Loose The Beating Birds)

Best Innovation

Adelaide Guitar Festival – The Backstage Sessions

Andrew Muecke – Happy Ghosts

Porch Records

Rebel Yell

Best Music Educator

Adelaide Youth Orchestras

Hayley Wedding

Jenna Miltenoff

Leena Regan 

Robert Taylor aka DJ RAGZ


Blues/Roots Award

Cal Williams Jr

Dojo Rise


Sue Baker

The Danger Dolphins

Country Award

Ella & Sienna

Ellen Tefanis

Matt Ward

Very Jane


Electronic Award

Happy Ghosts




The Lunar Society

Experimental Award

Adam Page



The Empty Threats

Travis Cook

Folk Award

Anya Anastasia

Diamond Skies

Kaurna Cronin

Loren Kate

Ukulele Death Squad

Heavy Award

Dirty Pagans


 Scott Reed’s String Theory



Hip Hop Award


Elsy Wameyo



We Move Like Giants

Jazz Music Award

Alexander Flood

Mike Stewart Big Band 

Sam Cagney

Soylent Green

The Shaolin Afronauts

Pop Award

Ebony Emili

Electric Fields



Mum Friends 

Punk Award


Church Moms

Lickity Split


Teenage Joans

Rock Award

Lucas Day

Molly Rocket

Mums Favourite


Wolf & Cub

Soul/ Funk/ RnB Award

Dino Jag

Lauren Greco

Mum Thinks Blue

Natasha Bianca



Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles