The Brag Media
News May 11, 2017

BIGSOUND’s first speakers for 2017 include Aussie icons and international heavy-hitters

BIGSOUND’s first speakers for 2017 include Aussie icons and international heavy-hitters

Australia’s BIGSOUND festival/industry conference is back for its 16th year, and once again it’s bringing some high-profile guests heading to Brisbane’s Fortitude Valley from September 5 – 8, including local legends and big industry players.

The festival has just announced its first speakers for 2017, and has named the iconic Archie Roach and Tina Arena as its first Australian artist keynotes, alongside a host of local and international speakers and guests including Andrew Jervis of Bandcamp, Eva Trionis of Ninja Tune, and Quentin Tarantino’s music supervisor Mary Ramos.

“It is my honour to welcome our esteemed first keynote speakers to the lineup this year, Tina Arena and Archie Roach – two Australian icons who have contributed so much to our cultural identity over the past few decades. I know they have a lot to say, and I absolutely can’t wait to hear it,” BIGSOUND programmer Maggie Collins says of the reveal.

“I’m also so excited to finally reveal just a glimpse of the many exciting, hungry, and passionate people that are chomping at the bit to come out to BIGSOUND. They’re gagging to discover their next favourite Australian band, and work with them around the world.”

The conference will also be a call-back to successes of previous years, with Peter Berard of Domino and Stuart Meyer of Sub Pop in attendance following the signings of former BIGSOUND buzz acts Middle Kids and Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever respectively. Similarly, The Goon Sax agent Isla Angus joining us from the U.K, while Flume’s South American promoter Adel Hattem of D Music Marketing will also be flying over.

triple j’s Nick Findlay will also be making his first appearance since his promotion to the position of musical director, joined by presenter Zan Rowe, and our own Managing Editor Poppy Reid will also be speaking on behalf of Seventh Street Media and all of our publications.

This year will also mark the first appearance of the $100,000 Levi’s Music Prize, a prize pool judged by the festival’s delegates and awarded to BIGSOUND alumni to help foster them in the next stages of their careers, and encourage new bands to involve themselves in the showcases and be in the running for next year’s prize.

The conference will also be unveiling an expanded technological element in the Music Tech Showcase, with emerging Australian companies able to apply to display their products and services at BIGSOUND, complete with a day of mentoring.

“Technology is arguably the biggest influence over today’s music industry, so it’s fitting that BIGSOUND becomes more inclusive of the tech sector.” said QMusic Executive Officer Joel Edmondson. “The new Music Tech Showcase is something we hope establishes itself over time as being as valuable to the tech sector as BIGSOUND’s artist performance opportunities are for emerging musical talent.”

Applications for this year’s BIGSOUND are now open through the website, and will close on May 22.


Archie Roach (AUS) – Keynote Tina Arena (AUS) – Keynote Adel Hattem D Music Marketing (Brazil)

Alison Wenham – Worldwide Independent Network – (UK) Andrew Jervis – Bandcamp (USA) Ash Kerley – Girls Rock! (AUS)

Bill Roe – Trouble In Mind Records (USA) Bob Van Heur – Le Guess Who? Festival / Belmont Bookings (NL) Eva Trifonas – Ninja Tune (AUS)

Isla Angus – ATC Live (UK) Ivy Yuen – Magnetic Asia Limited (Hong Kong) James Clarke – Aeroplane Agency (AUS)

James Moodie – Vevo (UK) Jane Abernathy – 4AD Records (USA) Jenn Yacoubian – Goldenvoice (USA)

Lucy Wood – Festival Republic (UK) Mary Ramos – Saturday Music Inc. (USA) Mazin Tappuni – Communion Music (UK)

Mel Brown – Impressive PR (UK) Melissa Woods – Third Side Music (USA) Mike Ajayi – All My Friends (UK)

Nick Findlay – triple j (AUS) Paul Adams – New Community Management / Roc Nation (USA) Peter Berard – Domino Recording Co. Ltd. (USA)

Poppy Reid – Seventh Street Media (AUS) Rebecca Young – Collective Artists (AUS) Ric Leichtung – Adhoc (USA)

Roy Amar – Bear Parts Music (AUS) Stuart Meyer – Sub Pop (USA) Sullivan Patten – Sullivan (AUS)

Sylvie Piccolotto – Rock City (Argentina) Zan Rowe – triple j (AUS)

This article originally appeared on The Industry Observer, which is now part of The Music Network.

Related articles