News August 11, 2017

Australian Music Vault to include ARIA Hall of Fame section

Australian Music Vault to include ARIA Hall of Fame section

The upcoming Australian Music Vault, the national hall of fame at Arts Centre Melbourne, will have a dedicated section for the ARIA Hall of Fame.

This partnership with the Sydney-based Australian Recording Industry Association will focus on the 85 ARIA HoF inductees so far since 1988, with physical memorabilia and digital content

Victoria’s Minister for Creative Industries Martin Foley said, “The Australian Music Vault will turn up the volume on our local industry, providing a dedicated space to enjoy, celebrate and promote the successes of our nation’s music talent – past, present and future.

“This partnership with ARIA demonstrates and adds to the national significance of the Music Vault and Melbourne’s position as Australia’s music capital.”

The ARIA collection will add to that of the Music Vault’s own physical and digital collection, which draws on Arts Centre Melbourne’s own 600,000 items and past exhibitions centred around Nick Cave, Midnight Oil, Kylie Minogue and AC/DC.

The Music Vault will also feature more women, who have only made up around 15% of ARIA HoF entrants.(although it must be said that the very first inductee was a woman). 

In 2010, Arts Centre Melbourne featured the female-only Rock Chicks exhibition. 

The Australian Music Vault will open in late 2017and is part of the Andrews Labor Government’s $22.2 million Music Works initiative.

It is set up partly to celebrate and honour the icons, and also serve as a music tourism destination.

Arts Centre Melbourne Chief Executive Claire Spencer said of the new partnership, “ARIA’s support as the peak national body for the music industry demonstrates the significance of this project in celebrating the Australian music story and will provide a highlight of the Australian Music Vault experience. 

ARIA CEO Dan Rosen added: “ARIA is delighted to be part of the Australian Music Vault, it’s a wonderful opportunity to showcase our rich history of ARIA  Hall of Fame inductees and share with the public all that’s great about our Aussie music icons.”



1988   Dame Joan Sutherland, Johnny O’Keefe, Slim Dusty, Col Joye, Vanda & Young, AC/DC

1989   Dame Nellie Melba, Ross Wilson

1990   Percy Grainger, Sherbet

1991   Billy Thorpe, Glenn Shorrock, Don Burrows, Peter Dawson

1992   Skyhooks

1993   Cold Chisel, Peter Allen

1994   Men at Work

1995   The Seekers

1996   Australian Crawl, Horrie Dargie

1997   The Bee Gees, Paul Kelly, Graeme Bell

1998   The Masters Apprentices, The Angels

1999   Richard Clapton, Jimmy Little

2000   No inductees

2001   INXS, The Saints

2002   Olivia Newton-John

2003   John Farnham

2004   Little River Band

2005   Jimmy Barnes, Smoky Dawson, Renée Geyer, Normie Rowe, Split Enz, The Easybeats, Hunters & Collectors

2006   Daddy Cool, Divinyls, Icehouse, Helen Reddy, Rose Tattoo, Lobby Loyde, Midnight Oil

2007   Frank Ifield, Hoodoo Gurus, Marcia Hines, Jo Jo Zep & The Falcons, Brian Cadd, Radio Birdman, Nick Cave

2008   Dragon, Russell Morris, Max Merritt, The Triffids, Rolf Harris

2009   Kev Carmody, The Dingoes, Little Pattie, Mental As Anything, John Paul Young

2010   The Church, Models, Johnny Young, John Williamson, The Loved Ones

2011   Kylie Minogue, The Wiggles

2012   Yothu Yindi[

2013   Air Supply

2014   Molly Meldrum, Countdown

2015   Tina Arena

2016   Crowded House

Related articles