The Brag Media
News August 22, 2016

APRA AMCOS takes out Australian Disputes Centre award


APRA AMCOS HAS won the Australian Disputes Centre’s ADR Corporate Team of the Year award for its innovative dispute resolution project Resolution Pathways.

Designed by Shirli Kirschner of Resolve Advisors, the resolution pathways are intended to assist APRA AMCOS members and licensees to resolve disputes themselves or to ensure an independent determination of issues where appropriate. Disputing parties are offered a free consultation with an experienced external dispute facilitator to help them choose the method of resolution most appropriate for their particular dispute. Parties can choose to resolve their disputes through facilitated discussions with industry peers, mediation, or ask to have their dispute determined by a copyright or industry expert.

APRA AMCOS Head of Legal, Corporate & Policy, Jonathan Carter, said:

“In setting up Resolution Pathways, APRA AMCOS’ aim was to provide a fair, independent and transparent dispute resolution process that gives a voice to music creators and music users and streamlines the resolution of those parties’ disputes before they escalate unnecessarily. Winning this award gives us great confidence that we are on the right path to achieve that goal.

“APRA AMCOS is very grateful to Shirli Kirschner and her team at Resolve Advisors, the Resolution Pathways steering committee (made up of representatives from APRA AMCOS’ membership and licensees), and finally our key music mediation advisors, Keith Welsh and Michael McMartin, for all their hard work and continued support of the Resolution Pathways project.”

The Resolution Pathways ADR facility was introduced in 2015 and has already resulted in the successful resolution of a number of disputes involving APRA AMCOS stakeholders. For more information regarding the facility please visit the Resolution Pathways

Australian ADR Awards 2016 – Winners

Female ADR Practitioner of the Year
Georgia Quick, Partner Ashurst, Sydney

ADR Practitioner of the Year
Luke Tilley, Principal ADR Officer, QCAT, Brisbane

International ADR Practitioner
Max Bonnell, Partner King &Wood Malleson, Sydney

Young Mediator of the Year
Sarah Blake, Mediator & Dispute Resolution Consultant, Perth

ATSI Mediator of the Year
Maratja Dhamarrandji, Mediator & Interpreter, Darwin

Mediator of the Year
Mary Walker, Barrister, Sydney

International Mediator of the Year
Delcy Lagones de Anglim, Mediator & Dispute Resolution Consultant, Canberra

ADR Practice Group of the Year
Clifford Chance, Perth

ADR Corporate Team of the Year

Related articles