The Brag Media
News September 6, 2018

AIM indie awards highlight sector’s bright lights

Staff Writer
AIM indie awards highlight sector’s bright lights
Best Sophomore Release winners Let's Eat Grandma

Some of the global indie sector’s most exciting names shone at the AIM Independent Music awards in London.

Going into the night with four nominations had been Bristol punk band Idles, hot after their second album Joy As An Act of Resistance from this year lived up to the expectations of the highly acclaimed debut Brutalism from last year.

Other multi-nominee winners were LA singer-songwriter Phoebe Bridgers, English R&B singer-songwriter Jorja Smith and Brit experimental pop duo Let’s Eat Grandma.

Nina Tunes had two wins: independent label of the year, while their signing, Berlin-based Korean artist Peggy Gou took out track of the year.

While the indie community in the room would have had the upcoming EU vote on copyright reform uppermost in their minds, it took Sophie when accepting her innovator trophy to really sum up what the night was about.

“To be truly deserving of this award involved not only changing the sound of today’s music, but also ripping apart a deeply entrenched and deeply flawed patriarchal society,” she said.

“Creating a more diverse, inspiring and meaningful future for us now and the generations whose lives our decisions effect and help shape, thank you for having me.”


Independent Album of the Year

Nadine Shah – Holiday Destination (1965 Records/[PIAS])

Independent Track of the Year

Peggy Gou – It Makes You Forget (Itgehane) (Ninja Tune)

Best Sophomore Release

Let’s Eat Grandma – I’m All Ears (Transgressive)

UK Breakthrough of the Year

Jorja Smith (FAMM)

International Breakthrough of the Year

Phoebe Bridgers (Dead Oceans)

Best Live Act

Erasure (Mute Records)

Hardest Working Group or Artist

Idles (Partisan Records)

Outstanding Contribution to Music

Tracey Thorn

Pioneer Award


Innovator Award


Best Creative Packaging

Black Sabbath – The Ten Year War (BMG)

Independent Label of the Year

Ninja Tune

Best Small Label

Black Acre Records

Indie Champion Award

Femi Adeyemi – founder of NTS Radio

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act

Dave (Dave)

Independent Video of the Year

Novo Amor – Birthplace (AllPoints) / Directed by Sil van der Woerd & Jorik Dozy

Three Australian bands had been nominated.

Confidence Man were in the international breakthrough of the Year against Cigarettes After Sex, Moses Sumney, Phoebe Bridgers and Zeal & Ardor.

DMAs vied for best live act against Cassia, Erasure, Idles and Steps.

The hardest working group or artist category had King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard alongside DAWN (Dawn Richard), Idles, Mogwai and Tom Misch.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles