The Brag Media
News March 30, 2021

2021 APRA Music Awards nominations unveiled

2021 APRA Music Awards nominations unveiled

Amy Shark, Kevin Parker and Guy Sebastian are among the multiple nominees for the 2021 APRA Music Awards, set to take place 28th April.

The hitmakers are each up for the coveted APRA Song of the Year. Shark makes the cut with co-writer Joel Little for ‘Everybody Rise,’ continuing her streak of Song of the Year nominations into a fifth year (she won the category in 2019 with ‘I Said Hi’).

Parker is in the hunt for the peer-voted category for ‘Lost In Yesterday,’ lifted from Tame Impala’s chart-topping The Slow Rush album, while Sebastian completes back-to-back nominations, this time for ‘Standing With You.’

Kevin Parker

Kevin Parker photo by Matt Sav

Also in contention for Song of the Year is Rob Hirst, Bunna Lawrie and Gadigal poet Joel Davison for Midnight Oil’s comeback single ‘Gadigal Land,’ and allrounder Tim Minchin has a chance for ‘Carry You,’ the song performed by Missy Higgins on his Upright TV series.

There are multiple nods for Tones And I, The Rubens, Andrew Farriss, Flume featuring Vera Blue, Dean Lewis, Miiesha and Lime Cordiale’s founders Louis and Oli Leimbach.

Both Miiesha and Lime Cordiale are in the hunt for Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year, which is decided by the APRA board of writer and publisher directors. And it’s the first time their names are called out for any APRA Award category.

guy sebastian 2017 press shot white shirt

Guy Sebastian

This year sees 49 Australian songwriters receive their first APRA Award nomination. It’s a diverse list that includes Casey Barnes, Winston Surfshirt, Hockey Dad and The Amity Affliction.

Following a virtual ceremony in 2020 as the pandemic raged on, this year’s gala will be return to a sit-down format at the Sydney International Convention Centre Grand Ballroom, with Julia Zemiro, Ziggy Ramo and Georgia Mooney on hosting duties.

Some of the virtual experience will live on. For the first time, rolling highlights will be streamed on the night from the official APRA AMCOS YouTube channel.

Additional details on live performances and more will be announced in the weeks ahead.

Visit for the full list of nominations.

This article originally appeared on The Industry Observer, which is now part of The Music Network.

Related articles