The Brag Media ▼
News August 8, 2020

2020 virtual NIMAs: Full winners list

2020 virtual NIMAs: Full winners list

Yolngu man Baker Boy took home multiple trophies at the first ever virtual National Indigenous Music Awards tonight.

Taking out Artist of the Year, Song of the Year and Film Clip of the Year for his hit ‘Meditjin’ featuring Jess B, Baker Boy accepted his award live from Bendigo.

“Woah, my heart! This is crazy. I honestly didn’t think I could win at all tonight, but I just want to say to all the nominees tonight across all of the categories; you are incredible, you are amazing and I am so proud of you all, my brothers and sisters,” said Baker Boy.

“To my family back in Darwin across Arnhem Land, I’m so proud to represent my people and so overwhelmed by the support and success I have achieved rapping in Yolgnu Matha and English,” he added.

Across the two-hour broadcast the NIMAs honoured Archie Roach with Album Of The Year for Tell Me Why, Miiesha with New Talent of the Year, KDA Crew for Community Clip of the Year and Rrawun Maymuru and Nick Wales with the Indigenous Language Award for Nyapillilngu (Spirit Lady).

While the broadcast was affected by a last minute host change as NT border closures meant Stephen Oliver was unable to take part. However with the legendary Elaine Crombie joined on the night by NIMA Creative Director Ben Graetz, the broadcast was a special celebration of First Nations arts and culture.

The annual NIMAs were broadcast on National Indigenous Television (NITV), Double J, National Indigenous Radio Service, TEABBA, Facebook, YouTube and Twitter from 7pm AEST.

Viewers were treated to the first public performance of Midnight Oil’s new single ‘Gadigal Land’ along with performances by Kaleena Briggs, Bunna Lawrie, Dan Sultan, Thelma Plum, Pitjantjatjara and Torres Strait Island R&B star Miiesha, Numbulwar band Mambali and triple j Unearthed competition winner JK-47, and crosses to Jessica Mauboy, Mitch Tambo and Electric Fields.


Artist of the Year:
Baker Boy

Album of the Year:
Archie Roach – Tell Me Why

Song of the Year:
Baker Boy ft. Jess B – Meditjin

New Talent of the Year:

Film Clip of the Year:
Baker Boy ft. Jess B – Meditjin

Community Clip of the Year:
KDA Crew

Indigenous Language Award:
Rrawun Maymuru & Nick Wales – Nyapililngu (Spirit Lady)

Triple J Unearthed:

Hall Of Fame Inductee:
Ruby Hunter

This article originally appeared on The Industry Observer, which is now part of The Music Network.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles