The Brag Media
News September 25, 2019

2019 APRA Professional Development Award winners unveiled

2019 APRA Professional Development Award winners unveiled

This week, APRA doled out its Professional Development Awards for 2019, acknowledging the achievements and work of a select group of talented songwriters and composers in their field.

The awards, held every two years, are an excellent opportunity for artists to forward their endeavours courtesy of a $15,000 cash prize, an ‘Aon Wallet’ insurance package and a set of M50x Studio Headphones from Audio Technica.

The winners this year have included Angie McMahon, Ecca Vandal, Mojo Juju, Deline Briscoe and Niran Dasika.

Opera singer, songwriter and actor Jess Hitchcock was named the recipient of the Indigenous Music and Media Award courtesy of the Smugglers of Light foundation. The foundation, set up in memory of 21 year old Eli Westlake, has awarded Hitchcock a grant of $12,000, awarded by composer and conductor, Nigel Westlake.

Jess Hitchcock – ‘Bloodline’

“The calibre of the recipients of the Professional Development Awards signals the strength of Australian music.” Dean Ormston, APRA AMCOS Chief Executive has said.

“Acknowledging and investing in our homegrown talent is crucial to their next career steps, and we look forward to seeing and hearing what the future holds for all of them.”

Previous winners of the APRA Professional Development Awards have included Gotye, Julia Jacklin and Briggs.

APRA Professional Development Award Winners

Angie McMahon – Popular Contemporary
Ecca Vandal – Popular Contemporary
Mojo Juju – Popular Contemporary
Deline Briscoe – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander
Amanda Cole – Art Music
Imogen Clark – Country
Beatrice Lewis – Dance/Electronic
Pru Montin – Film and Television
Niran Dasika – Jazz

This article originally appeared on The Industry Observer, which is now part of The Music Network.

Related articles