The Brag Media
News December 13, 2018

Troye Sivan, Amy Shark headline the 2018 Australian Music Prize longlist

Charts & New Music Editor
Troye Sivan, Amy Shark headline the 2018 Australian Music Prize longlist

Celebrating the best local albums of the year, the prestigious Australian Music Prize (AMP) has today released its longlist for 2018.

Among the 86 nominated releases are Amy Shark’s ARIA Album Of The Year Love Monster, Troye Sivan’s Bloom, Gurrumul’s Djarimirri and Campfire by ARIA Hall Of Famer Kasey Chambers.

21 judges from various sectors of the Australian music industry will decide on the winner who stands to collect $30,000 courtesy of the AMP’s principal partner PPCA.

“2018 has been an exceptional year for Australian music and we look forward to seeing which albums make the shortlist and to present the winner with the prize money,” said Dan Rosen, PPCA chief executive.

Now in its fourteenth year, the AMP has a long history of esteemed winners including The Drones, A.B. Original, Courtney Barnett, Sampa The Great, Lisa Mitchell and The Jezabels.

“In an age of streaming, we’re seeing a renaissance of the album as artists redefine what it can be,” said AMP judge and radio presenter Caitlin Nienaber.

“Today fans may have been liberated in a world of pick-and-choose tracks, but artists can also create with a blank canvas when working on bringing an album into the world.”

A shortlist of nine releases will be announced in early 2019 with the winner being crowned in March.


Abbe May – Fruit

Alice Ivy – I’m Dreamin

Alice Skye – Friends With Feelings

Amy Shark – Love Monster

Barney McAll ft. Monash Art Ensemble – Zephyrix

Camp Cope – How To Socialise & Make Friends

Cash Savage and the Last Drinks – Good Citizens

Catherine Britt & The Cold Cold Hearts – Catherine Britt & The Cold Cold Hearts

Confidence Man – Confident Music for Confident People

Cosmo’s Midnight – What Comes Next

Courtney Barnett – Tell Me How You Really Feel

Dark Fair – Off Into My Head

Dead Can Dance – Dionysus

Deaf Wish – Lithium Zion

DZ Deathrays – Bloody Lovely

East Brunswick All Girls Choir – Teddywaddy

Emily Wurramara – Milyakburra

Emma Louise Lilac – Everything: A Project By Emma Louise

Evelyn Ida Morris – Evelyn Ida Morris

Evelyn Ida Morris – Acute Misfortune

Flowertruck – Mostly Sunny

Fraser A Gorman – Easy Dazy

Freya Josephine Hollick – Feral Fusion

Gabriella Cohen – Pink Is The Colour Of Unconditional Love

The Goon Sax – We’re Not Talking

Grand Salvo – Sea Glass

Gregor – Silver Drop

Gurrumul – Djarimirri

High Tension – Purge

Hockey Dad – Blend Inn

Jack Ladder & The Dreamlanders – Blue Poles

Jack River – Sugar Mountain

Jethro Pickett – France

Jonathan Zwartz – Animarum (Expanded Edition)

Joseph Tawadros – The Bluebird, The Mystic & The Fool

Joyride – Sunrise Chaser

Kasey Chambers & The Fireside Disciples – Campfire

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Gumboot Soup

Lachlan Bryan And The Wildes – Some Girls (Quite) Like Country Music

Laura Jean – Devotion

Loose Tooth – Keep Up

Lowtide – Southern Mind

LUCIANBLOMKAMP – Sick Of What I Don’t Understand (Pts 1 – 3)

Luke Howard – Open Heart Story

The Lulu Raes – LULU

Marlon Williams – Make Way For Love

Matt Corby – Rainbow Valley

Mia Dyson – If I Said Only So Far I Take It Back

Middle Kids – Lost Friends

Mojo Juju – Native Tongue

The Moles – Code Word

Morning Harvey – With The Pinstripes

The Necks – Body

Ned Collette – Old Chestnut

New War – COIN

The Ocean Party – The Oddfellows Hall

Odette – To A Stranger

Oh Pep! – I Wasn’t Only Thinking About You…

Padma Newsome – The Vanity of Trees

Perry Keyes – Jim Salmon’s Lament

Peter Bibby – Grand Champion

Presets, The – Hi Viz

Primitive Motion – House in the Wave

Psycroptic – As The Kingdom Drowns

The Putbacks – The Putbacks

Rabbit Island – Deep in the Big

Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – Hope Downs

Ryan Downey – Running

Sam Anning – Across A Field As Vast As One

Sarah Blasko – Depth Of Field

Sarah Mary Chadwick – Sugar Still Melts In The Rain

Setec – Atrial Flutters (or Raise Yr Hand If Yr Afraid)

Shepparton Airplane – Almurta

Southeast Desert Metal – Break The Silence

Space Invadas – Wild World

Steve Barry Quartet – Blueprints & Vignettes

Straight Arrows – On Top

SURFING – ‘Incubo’ – Incubo

Tangents – New Bodies

Tape/Off – Broadcast Park

Tia Gostelow – Thick Skin

Tom Noonan – Pas de Deux

Tori Forsyth – Dawn Of The Dark

Totally Mild – Her

Tropical Fuck Storm – A Laughing Death in Meatspace

Troye Sivan – Bloom

William Crighton – Empire


Chris Berkley

Mikey Cahill

Alex Cameron

Bryget Chrisfield

Tim Daley

Zoe Davis

Dave Faulkner (chairperson)

‘Ofa Fotu

Tim Freedman

Sose Fuamoli

Alex Grigg

Kate Hennessy

Phil Jamieson

Shannon Logan

Caitlin Nienaber

Nate Nott

Zoe Radas

Rok Riley

Sarah Smith


Bernard Zuel


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles