The Brag Media
News April 21, 2022

The Wiggles to Receive the Ted Albert Award at 2022 APRAs

Senior Journalist, B2B
The Wiggles to Receive the Ted Albert Award at 2022 APRAs

Fuel up your big red car, the Wiggles are taking centre stage at the APRA Music Awards.

Announced today (April 21), the Wiggles are the 2022 recipients of the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music, one of the most coveted prizes in the music industry.

The original blue, red, yellow and purple-skivvied artists Anthony Field, Murray Cook, Greg Page and Jeff Fatt will be on hand to collect their honours May 3 when the APRAs take place at Melbourne Town Hall.

The Ted Albert Award is another highlight in a year stacked with milestones for the kids entertainers.

In recent months, the group landed their first No. 1 on the ARIA Albums Chart for ReWiggled and topped the triple J Hottest 100 for the first time with their reimagined cut of Tame Impala’s “Elephant.”

The Wiggles play a long game with an international audience. In a career spanning three decades, the Wiggles have sold more than 30 million albums and DVDs, eight million books, and accumulated upwards of one billion music streams and 2 billion views on YouTube.

For their 30 anniversary last year, the Wiggles released millions of limited-edition coins through the Royal Australian Mint, and, in the lead up to their big celebration, signed with Universal Music Publishing Group.

the wiggles hottest 100

The Wiggles were inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame in 2011. With their Ted Albert Award, they join an elite circle that includes AC/DC, Midnight Oil, Paul Kelly and the late Michael Gudinski.

“On behalf of everyone who’s worked with The Wiggles over the past 31 years, I want to thank APRA for honouring us with the Ted Albert Award,” comments founding member Anthony Field (blue Wiggle). “We have always been driven by genuine love and passion for music, and this recognition means so much to us. Seeing our names alongside Aussie greats, including The Seekers, Joy McKean and the incredible Helen Reddy is so wonderful.”

In other 2022 APRA Awards news, Sigala & James Arthur’s “Lasting Lover” is named winner of most performed international work.

The song is written by Arthur, Bruce Fielder, Lewis Capaldi, Luke Fitton, Benjamin Goldwasser, Jarl Hasselquist, Corey Sanders and Andrew Vanwyngarden and samples MGMT’s “Time to Pretend.”

Also, APRAs Musical Director François Tétaz unveils the eclectic line-up on the night, which will feature performances from the Hard-Ons, Dallas Woods, Chris Cheney, Jack Ladder & The Dreamlanders and more.

The 40th anniversary edition will be co-hosted by Julia Zemiro and R&B/Soul Work nominee Jerome Farah, while The Kid LAROI leading the way with four nominations. Visit for more.

This article originally appeared on The Industry Observer, which is now part of The Music Network.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles