The Brag Media ▼
News May 14, 2020

Meredith Festival, Lady Gaga Scoop APRA Awards as John Butler, Mo’Ju confirmed for 2020 virtual ceremony

Senior Journalist, B2B
Meredith Festival, Lady Gaga Scoop APRA Awards as John Butler, Mo’Ju confirmed for 2020 virtual ceremony

John Butler and Mo’Ju are among the performers lined-up for the 2020 APRA Music Awards, set to stream to the world later this month in a virtual edition, and which will celebrate two of the biggest names in pop music and a much-loved music festival.

Lady Gaga’s global hit ‘Shallow’ from Bradley Cooper’s remake of A Star is Born takes out Most Performed International Work, APRA announces today.

The song hit No. 1 in 27 countries, including Australia, and earns Gaga (real name Stefani Germanotta) and co-writers Anthony Rossomando and Andrew Wyatt their first APRA Music Award.

It’ll mark the second APRA for uber-producer Mark Ronson, who snagged the same category in 2016 with ‘Uptown Funk,’ his collaboration with Bruno Mars.

Stream Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper’s ‘Shallow’:

APRA also provides early warning on the Licensee of the Year award, which this year goes to Meredith Music Festival. The Victorian event opened its gates in 1991 and is today one of the most cherished events on the festivals calendar. Meredith becomes the first Australian music festival to be recognised by APRA AMCOS for its “commitment to artists and their music rights.”

Meredith Music Festival

In one of the traditional highlights of the APRAs, each of the song of the year nominees will get the cover treatment during the ceremony. This year, Kira Puru and Mo’Ju (formerly known as Mojo Juju) will weave their musical magic.

Duets will be the order of the night. Nominee John Butler will join forces with Mama Kin, and Nikka Costa will perform in tandem with her husband, musician Justin Stanley.

Also confirmed to perform are troubadour William Crighton and New York-based expat The Dawn of MAY, who will make her APRA Music Awards debut.

The #VAPRAs take place Monday, May 25. The action starts at 7:00pm AEST with Briggs on MC duties and featuring one-off performances curated by Australia’s 2019 Eurovision rep Kate Miller-Heidke, who returns as musical director.

Earlier, a “virtual red carpet” will kick off, with viewers around the globe encouraged to dress up in their best rockstar kit and share selfies with customised #VAPRAs red carpet Instagram filters.

Visit for more.

This article originally appeared on The Industry Observer, which is now part of The Music Network.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles