The Brag Media ▼
News July 13, 2022

BARKAA, Baker Boy & Jessica Mauboy Among 2022 NIMAs Finalists

BARKAA, Baker Boy & Jessica Mauboy Among 2022 NIMAs Finalists

The nominations for the 2022 National Indigenous Music Awards have been announced, with the ceremony’s stellar live lineup also confirmed.

After an absence of a few years, the NIMAs is making up for lost time with a massive celebration of Indigenous music planned for the show at Darwin Amphitheatre on August 6th. Thelma Plum, King Stingray will be joined onstage by Emma Donovan & The Putbacks, Birds & Fred Leone, Yirrmal, and J-MILLA.

Leading this year’s finalist list is BARKAA, the Malyangapa and Barkindji star earning four nominations. Baker Boy is in with a chance of winning three awards, including Artist of the Year. Other notable finalists include Jessica Mauboy, The Kid Laroi, King Stingray, Tasman Keith, Xavier Rudd, and Electric Fields.

“After a two year hiatus, it’s very exciting to be bringing the NIMAs back to the Darwin Amphitheatre on Larrakia Country,” NIMA Creative Director Ben Graetz says. “I’m thrilled to see such an extraordinary list of finalists this year and cannot wait for live performances from some of our most powerful First Nations musicians such as Thelma Plum and Emma Donovan & The Putbacks. This year is all about coming together and celebrating as one big community.”

Tickets for this year’s NIMAs are on sale now via Ahead of the ceremony, fans can listen to the nominees playlist on Amazon Music.

2022 NIMAs Nominations

Artist of the Year

The Kid Laroi
Jessica Mauboy
Baker Boy
Electric Fields
Thelma Plum
King Stingray

Song of the Year

‘Backseat of My Mind’ – Thelma Plum
‘Made For Silence’ – Miiesha
‘Milkumana’ – King Stingray
‘Sometime’ – Mo Ju
‘King Brown’ – BARKAA
‘Ball and Chain’ – Xavier Rudd

Album of the Year

Gela – Baker Boy
Under These Streets – Emma Donovan & The Putbacks
I Don’t Know Who to Call – Jim Cassar-Daley
Legacy – Birdz
Julie’s Boy – Dallas Woods
My Songs 1989-2021 – Archie Roach

Film Clip of the Year

‘Love Too Soon’ – Tasman Keith
‘King Brown’ – BARKAA
‘Blak Matriarchy’ – BARKAA
‘My Mind’ – Baker Boy
‘Automatic’ – Jessica Mauboy

New Talent of the Year

Jem Cassar-Daley
Lil Kootsie
Tilly Tjala Thomas

Community Clip of the Year

Koori Mob – ‘Our Country, Our Life’ – Desert Pea Media
Gumbaynggirr Collective – ‘Through the Smoke’ – Desert Pea Media
Doomadgee, QLD – ‘Where We Wanna Be’ – Indigenous Outreach Project
Numbulwar, NT – ‘Loud & Proud’ – Indigenous Outreach Project
Ballarat, VIC – ‘Don’t Give Up On Yourself’ – Indigenous Outreach Project


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles