The Brag Media
News August 6, 2021

DMA’s & Spacey Jane sweep the 2021 AIR Awards

DMA’s & Spacey Jane sweep the 2021 AIR Awards

Australia’s best independent acts and record labels were celebrated at last night’s virtual AIR Awards, which saw DMA’s steal the spotlight with three wins for the evening.

The Sydney trio’s 2020 full-length The Glow was named as the coveted Album of the Year and also took home the prize for Best Rock Album, while The Avalanches’ remix of their track ‘Criminals’ was awarded Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single.

The band’s label I Oh You was also named Independent Label of the Year, beating out the likes of Spinning Top, etcetc, UNFD and ABC Music to take home the award.

Meanwhile, Perth indie outfit Spacey Jane were lauded off the back of last year’s breakout success, taking home Independent Song of the Year for ‘Booster Seat’ and being named as the Breakthrough Independent Artist of the Year.

Deena Lynch (aka Jaguar Jonze) was named as the recipient of the 2021 Outstanding Achievement Award due to her efforts in calling out sexual misconduct within the music industry.

Other major winners for the night included Gordi (Best Independent Pop Album), Banoffee (Best Independent Dance or Electronica Album), Chillinit (Best Independent Hip-Hop Album) and Emma Donovan & The Putbacks (Best Independent Soul/R&B Album), with Fanny Lumsden, The Chats, Katie Noonan, Vika & Linda Bull and Polaris also named as award recipients.

AIR CEO, Maria Amato, highlighted the strength of this year’s nominees, noting the challenges currently facing the independent sector.

“Congratulations to all the nominees and winners tonight,” Amato said.

“In a year of continued lockdowns and enormous challenges it was great to see Australian independent artists continue to create new music and connect with engaged audiences.

“We thank the South Australian Department of Innovation and skills, the Music Development Office, Tourism SA and Events SA for being our major sponsor, and extend thanks to our supporting partners and label members for their continued support.”

A full list of 2021 AIR Award winners can be viewed below.

Best Independent Label

I Oh You

Independent Album Of The Year

DMA’S – ‘The Glow’

Independent Song Of The Year

Spacey Jane – ‘Booster Seat’

Best Independent Soul/R&B Album or EP

Emma Donovan & The Putbacks – ‘Crossover’

Best Independent Country Album or EP

Fanny Lumsden – ‘Fallow’

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album or EP

Vika & Linda – Sunday (The Gospel According To Iso)’

Best Independent Pop Album or EP

Gordi – ‘Our Two Skins’

Best Independent Rock Album or EP

DMA’S – ‘The Glow’

Best Independent Classical Album or EP

Joseph Tawadros/James Tawadros/Sydney Symphony Orchestra – ‘Live At The Sydney Opera House’

2021 Outstanding Achievement Award

Deena Lynch (Jaguar Jonze)

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year

Spacey Jane

Best Independent Hip Hop Album or EP

Chillinit – ‘The Octagon’

Best Independent Dance or Electronica Album or EP

Banoffee – ‘Look At Us Now Dad’

Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club single

DMA’S – ‘Criminals (The Avalanches Remix)’

Best Independent Jazz Album or EP

Katie Noonan – ‘The Sweetest Taboo’

Best Independent Punk Album or EP

The Chats – ‘High Risk Behaviour’

Best Independent Heavy Album or EP

Polaris – ‘The Death Of Me’

Best Independent Children’s Album or EP

Teeny Tiny Stevies – ‘Thoughtful Songs For Little People’


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles