News August 3, 2018

Tropical F*ck Storm land US deal

Tropical F*ck Storm land US deal

Melbourne band Tropical F*ck Storm have signed to US label Joyful Noise Recordings after two tours through the United States.

Their album A Laughing Death In Meatspace gets a release through the US, Europe and the UK on October 26.

Joyful Noise is home to fellow noiseniks, Deerhoof, Jesus Lizard, Sebadoh, Dinosaur Jnr, God Speed You Black Emperor, Sufjan Stevens, Lee Ranaldo, Thee Oh See and The Melvins.

Says frontman Gareth Liddiard, “The band and myself are quietly confident that the US release of ALDIMS will bridge America’s political divide and usher in a millennia-long age of peace and prosperity.”

Tropical F*ck Storm are Liddiard, Fiona Kitschin, Lauren Hammel and Erica Dunn.

The band began as an offshoot for Liddiard and Kitschin as The Drones were finding it difficult to coordinate tours as band members began raising children.

Dunn had toured with The Drones in her band Harmony, and had sung on the last Drones album, Feelin’ Kinda Free, from 2016.

Hammel is drummer with High Tension.

Their upcoming dates include Winter Wild festival, Apollo Bay (August 9), Charlton Motel, Charlton (August 25) and Yours & Owls festival, Wollongong (Sept 30.).

Related articles