The Brag Media ▼
News June 24, 2019

The Presets, Odette, Ruel and Bri Clark shortlisted for Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition

Senior Journalist, B2B
The Presets, Odette, Ruel and Bri Clark shortlisted for Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition

Songs by rising Sydney talent Odette, Nashville-based Novocastrian country singer and songwriter Morgan Evans, and chart-topping electronic music duo The Presets are among the Top 40 finalists for the prestigious 2019 Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition, announced Monday.

Odette (‘A Place That I Don’t Know’ and ‘Take It To The Heart’) The Presets (‘Downtown Shutdown’ and ‘Martini’) are two-time nominees, as are ARIA breakthrough artist winner Ruel (‘Dazed & Confused’ and ‘Younger’) and Perth singer and songwriter Bri Clark (‘Don’t Love Me’ and ‘What If I Break Your Heart’), who will compete for a range of cash prizes including a lump sum of $50,000 for the big winner.

Odette, ‘A Place That I Don’t Know’

Other familiar names in the final batch include Dean Lewis, CXLOE, Emma Louise, Far East Movement, Holy Holy, Jarryd James, Matt Corby and more, while Françoistunes, NYNE and Hayley Mengel are tipped as ones to watch.

The final round features 23 first-timers and a good proportion are newcomers, with roughly a third of the top 40 listed as “unpublished.”

Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition

Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition

All told, the short list has been whittled down from 3,683 entries from 48 countries, and in the process raising a six-figure sum for good causes.

Applicants chip in an entry fee of $50 per submission, with all money raised going to Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Australia (NRMTA) programs. To date, entrants have raised more than $1 million for good causes, with almost $185,000 raised this time.

“It means the world to our organisation and the children and adults we work with daily to have the support of over 3,600 songwriters from around the globe, whose competition entry fees go directly to providing much needed resources for a range of therapies and programs,” comments Belinda Leonard, CEO of NRMTA.

“A heartfelt thank you to Alberts and APRA AMCOS for championing this initiative for the past decade and thank you to songwriting legends Harry Vanda and George Young who continue to inspire.”

Ruel, ‘Dazed & Confused’

The winning entry will take out $50,000, courtesy of APRA AMCOS, Alberts and BMG. Also, a $10,000 prize will go to a pair of the second place-getter, donated by AMPAL (Australasian Music Publishers Association), while third place will come with a $5,000 bounty thanks to entertainment insurance specialists Aon. The best “Unpublished” work will also be awarded $5,000.



The winners will be announced in July and decided by a music industry panel featuring the likes of songwriter Lior, previous Vanda & Young first-place winner Isabella Manfredi of The Preatures, triple j Unearthed’s Dave Ruby Howe and others.

The contest has been dominated by female songwriters in recent years, with the likes of Amy Shark (2018), Gretta Ray (2016), Isabella Manfredi (2013), Kimbra (2011) and Megan Washington (2009) joining the winners’ circle.

Now in its 10th year, the prize takes its name from the legendary songwriters and founding members of The Easybeats, Harry Vanda and George Young, who passed away in October 2017.

The 2019 Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition shortlist is below (in alphabetical order).

 Aron Blom  Low Low Low  Jake Mason, Aron Blom, Hjalmar
Wilenvand Felix Gothesson
 Bri Clark  Don’t Love Me  Bri Clark, Finlay Dow-Smith and
Isabella Kearney-Nurse
 Bri Clark  What If I Break
Your Heart
 Bri Clark and Adam Spark
 Clare Bowditch  Woman  Clare Bowditch
 CXLOE  Show You  Chloe Papandrea, Sam Farrar
and Max Farrar
 David Taylor  Battered  David Taylor and Peter Holz
 Dean Lewis  Be Alright  Dean Lewis and Jon Hume
 Emma Louise  Wish You Well  Emma Lobb
 Far East Movement
feat. Jason Zhang and
Kina Grannis
 Bamboo  James Roh, Kevin Nishimura,
Virman Coquia, Huang Shao
Feng, Zeng Yu, Max Farrar and
Colton Avery
 Françoistunes  Seasons  Frederick Mutswagiwa and
Andrew Wortes
 Hayley Mengel  Sober  Hayley Mengel
 HOLY HOLY  Teach Me About
 Timothy Carroll, Ryan Strathie
and Oscar Dawson
 I Know Leopard  Everything Goes
With You
 Luke O’Loughlin, Todd Andrews,
Rosemary Fitzgerald and Jenny
 Jarryd James  Slow Motion  Jarryd James and Joel Little
 Jess & Matt  Virginia  Phillip Barton, Jessica Dunbar
and Matt Price
 Kaiit  Miss Shiney  Kaiit Waup, Michael Lee Chan,
Mohamed Komba, Vincent
Goodyer and Nicholas Martin
 Little May  As Loving Should  Gareth Farr and Elizabeth
 Manu Crooks feat.
Anfa Rose
 Fuego  Emmanuel Adu Amankwah,
Antonio Zito, Ossama Zaki,
Wilson Batista and Jose Batista
Oliveira D’
 Matt Corby  Miracle Love  Dann Hume and Matt Corby
 Max Frost  Money Problems  Taka Perry, Clea Pratt and Max
 Morgan Evans  Dance With Me  Morgan Evans and Christopher
De Stefano
 Ngaiire  Shiver  Ngaiire, Jack Britten and Will
 No Mono  Violence Broken  Thomas Iansek and Thomas
 NYNE  I Think You’re  Shannon Elliman and Sione Sisifa
 Odette  A Place That I
Don’t Know
 Georgia Odette Sallybanks
 Odette  Take It To The
 Georgia Odette Sallybanks and
Jason Cox
 Ruel  Dazed &
 Ruel, Peter James Harding, Mark
Landon and Sean Douglas
 Ruel  Younger  Ruel, Mark Landon, Peter James
Harding, Sarah Aarons, Larry
Griffin and Javohn Griffin
 Sahara Beck  Here We Go
 Sahara Beck and Antony Buchen
 Sammi Constantine  Ropes  Samantha Constantine, Aaron
Lee North and Matthew Connelly
 Stella Donnelly  Tricks  Stella Donnelly
 The Presets  Downtown
 Julian Hamilton and Kim Moyes
 The Presets  Martini  Julian Hamilton and Kim Moyes
 The Maes  Driving Ali
Through Mining
 Elsie Rigby
 The Veronicas  Think of Me  Jessica Origliasso, Lisa Origliasso,
Roberto De Sa and Isabella
 Timothy James Bowen  Sing  Timothy James Bowen
 VASSY  Concrete Heart  Vicky Karagiorgos, Philip Bentley,
Daniel Muckala, Daniel Boselovic
and Nicholas Ditri
 Wafia  I’m Good  Wafia Al-Rikabi, Roget Chahayed,
John Hill and Stephen Samuel
 Winterbourne  Better  James Draper and Jordan Brady
 Zedd, Maren Morris &
 The Middle  Sarah Aarons, Stefan Johnson,
Marcus Lomax, Jordan Johnson,
Anton Zaslavski, Kyle Trewartha
and Michael Trewartha

This article originally appeared on The Industry Observer, which is now part of The Music Network.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles