News July 31, 2019

Legendary jazz trio to receive top honour at 2019 Art Music Awards

Legendary jazz trio to receive top honour at 2019 Art Music Awards
Image: The Necks / Photo by Camille Welsh / Supplied

The Necks are about to become the first band to receive the Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music.

The award will be presented next Monday (August 19) at the 2019 Art Music Awards.

The legendary experimental jazz trio is made up of Chris Abrahams on piano, Lloyd Swanton on bass and Tony Buck on drums.

It’s a lineup that has remained constant since 1987 and releasing their first album Sex in 1989.

Together they released Aether in 2001 and Drive By in 2003, leading to ARIA and APRA Awards, with critics comparing The Necks to Philip Glass, The Dirty Three and Faust.

With more than three decades and 20 albums, the trio continues to rouse fans.

The Necks have sold out consecutive nights at the Sydney Opera House, opened for Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, and playing in venues from Dublin to Prague, Chicago, Moscow and Beirut.

Presented each year by APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre, the Art Music Awards recognises the achievement in the composition, performance, education and presentation of Australian art music.

Organisers announced the finalists for the 2019 Art Music Awards earlier this month, with Brian Ritchie, Katie Noonan and Cat Hope among the nominees.

This year has seen a record number of nominations to celebrate achievements in Australian contemporary classical, jazz and experimental music.

Last month TMN revealed that this year’s ceremony will head to Sydney University’s Great Hall.

Related articles