The Brag Media
News March 20, 2024

Tame Impala Manager Jodie Regan Tapped for AAM Legacy Award

Tame Impala Manager Jodie Regan Tapped for AAM Legacy Award

Spinning Top founder Jodie Regan is the recipient of the Legacy honour at the 2024 AAM Awards.

Announced Wednesday (March 20), Regan, who has guided Kevin Parker’s Tame Impala to the very pinnacle of contemporary music, claims the coveted award at the Association of Artist Manager’s annual ceremony.

Based in Western Australian, Regan launched Spinning Top in 2004, and, a decade later, formed the 100% self-funded record label, Spinning Top Records.

Regan has managed Pond, Haiku Hands and others through Spinning Top, though it’s her work with Tame Impala, which has racked-up billions of streams, won Brit Awards, APRA and ARIA Awards, and crashed the top 5 on albums charts on both sides of the Atlantic, that catches the attention.

Tame Impala' 'The Less I Know The Better' hits 1 billion streams

All told, her artists and record label have collected over 20 WAM awards, 13 ARIA awards, three APRA wins, two J awards, and multiple nominations and wins for the Grammys, NMEs, Billboard Music Awards, the Australian Music Prize, and MTV Video Music Awards in the U.S. and U.K.

“It’s really not often managers get recognised by anyone for the tireless work they do, and I certainly don’t do what I do for the recognition,” Regan says in a statement.

“But it feels bloody great to know that I could inspire a younger generation of Australian women to break into spaces that don’t look like they’re for us. Thank you AAM for this award.”

Regan follows in the footsteps of previous Legacy honourees including longtime The Cat Empire manager Correne Wilkie and 2023 recipient Michael McMartin, who managed the career of The Hoodoo Gurus for 41 years.

Presented by Oztix, the annual AAM Awards is set for May 1 at the Crowbar, on Gadigal land in Sydney, in the hours before the 2024 APRA Music Awards.

AAM categories and winners announced on the day are the legacy award (presented by Sony Music Publishing), manager of the year (presented by Oztix), breakthrough manager of the year (presented by DMT Lawyers) and the community engagement award (presented by Live Event Logistics).

Nominations for these brackets will close next Tuesday, March 26.

Also, the APRA AMCOS Lighthouse Award recipient will also be announced during the proceedings.

Led by executive director Maggie Collins, the AAM is the trade association for the Australian music industry’s managers, representing over 300 active managers, who in turn represent over 1,000 artists in contemporary music.

Visit for more.

The 2024 AAM Awards categories:

Legacy Award – (Presented by Sony Music Publishing)
Manager of the Year (Presented by Oztix)
Breakthrough Manager of the Year (Presented by DMT Lawyers)
Community Engagement Award – (Presented by Live Event Logistics)
The APRA AMCOS Lighthouse Award

Related articles