The Brag Media ▼
News July 23, 2018

QLD Grant McLennan Fellowship applications open

QLD Grant McLennan Fellowship applications open
2017 winner Jeremy Neale

Arts Queensland and APRA AMCOS have opened applications for the 2018 Grant McLennan Fellowship.

They are open to solo and duo songwriters who are members of APRA AMCOS and aged 21 and over.

The fellowship is administered by QMusic.

Founded in 2007 in honour of the late Queensland singer-songwriter and co-frontman of The Go-Betweens, the fellowship offers $25,000 for a creative to stay in New York, London or Berlin for up to six months and use the experience of being immersed in a foreign and vibrant musical culture to further develop their own artistic skills.

The three cities had special significance for McLennan for the same reason.

Last year’s recipient, singer-songwriter Jeremy Neale is currently in New York, widening his skills as a songwriter.

“I’m only at the beginning of my journey here but have so far completed a two-week songwriting intensive at NYU (New York University) that has done wonders for my own writing,” says Neale.

“It also made me comfortable with co-writing – which is something that I had avoided for most of my career but am now engaging in wherever possible.”

Neale notes that being able to be immersed full time in music has opened doors for opportunities that he would not have had time to do in Brisbane.

Minister for the Arts Leeanne Enoch says, “Contemporary music is a global industry and the Grant McLennan Fellowship gives our top talent the chance to explore creative options and establish international networking opportunities that can benefit the wider local industry.”

Adds Jana Gibson, head of member services at APRA AMCOS, “For over a decade, The Grant McLennan Fellowship has been supporting some of Queensland’s most promising songwriters on a journey of professional development and creative growth.

“APRA AMCOS is proud to be a partner in a program that honours Grant’s exceptional work by nurturing the talent in others.”

Applications close on September 17, with the winners to be announced in December.

Head here for full eligibility requirements and guidelines.

Previous winners:

2017: Jeremy Neale

2016: Hannah Macklin (MKO Sun)

2015: Timothy Steward (We All Want To, Screamfeeder)

2014: Thomas Calder (The Trouble With Templeton)

2013: Seja Vogel

2012: Louise O’Reilly & Paul Hannan (Laneway)

2011: Scott Spark

2010: Danny Widdicombe & Andrew Morris (The Wilson Pickers)

2009: Helen Franzmann (McKisko)

2008: John Busby and Chris Dale (Halfway)

2007: Greg Charles


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles