The Brag Media
News October 27, 2015

Northern Territory Song of the Year winners announced

Il-Anthawirriyarra a-Kurija (Saltwater People Song) by Shellie Morris and The Borroloola Songwomen took out two awards at the 2014 Northern Territory Song of the Year awards. It won the major NT Song of the Year as well as the Folk category.

Morris’ win comes during a 12 month period during which she was announced Northern Territory Australian of the Year, presented with a cultural advancement gong at the Deadlys and won the 2013 National Indigenous Music Awards Song of the Year. The Borroloola Songwomen project saw Morris, who was adopted out as a child and grew up in Sydney, reconnect with eleven of her tribal elders.

The awards were held on Saturday for the third time, at the Museum and Art Gallery of the NT in Darwin. They attracted 340 entries, according to organiser MusicNT.

Other winners were This Moment by Enth Degree (electronic & dance), Troubadour by Gareth Dawkins featuring Colin Lillie (blues & roots), Last Night’s Clothes by David Garnham, Dave Crowe and Toby Robinson (country), Pestilence by Miazma (heavy), A Feather To The Sea by Syren (pop), I Want You To Know by Skarlett (rock) In the End by My Team Dilemma (urban & hip hop) and Going Nowhere by Michael Lindsey (school aged).

Voting is still open for the People’s Choice Award with all 45 finalists in the running for the award.

Related articles