The Brag Media
News April 7, 2022

Nominees Revealed for 2022 APRA Music Awards

Nominees Revealed for 2022 APRA Music Awards

The nominees for the 2022 APRA Music Awards have been announced, with The Kid LAROI leading the way with four nods.

The annual event recognising the achievements of songwriters and publishers is set to be held at Melbourne Town Hall on Tuesday, May 3rd. The 40th anniversary edition will be co-hosted by Julia Zemiro and R&B/Soul Work nominee Jerome Farah.

With four nominations, The Kid LAROI is up for the most awards, followed closely by Vance Joy with three nods. Amyl and the Sniffers earn their first appearance on the Peer-Voted Song of the Year list for Guided by Angels, where they’ll compete against names like Midnight Oil (‘First Nation’ ft. Jessica Mauboy and Tasman Keith) and Hiatus Kaiyote (‘Red Room’).

In recognition of his huge 2021, Genesis Owusu is another songwriter making his APRA debut. Alongside co-writers Michael Di Francesco, Andrew Klippel, and Julian Sudek, he’s nominated for his song ‘The Other Black Dog’.

You can see the full list of nominees – and realise the strength of Australian music in 2022 despite pandemic-related setbacks – below.

2022 APRA Music Award Nominees

Peer-Voted APRA Song Of The Year

Midnight Oil ft. Jessica Mauboy, Tasman Keith – ‘First Nation’

Amyl and The Sniffers – ‘Guided By Angels’

Hiatus Kaiyote – ‘Red Room’

The Kid LAROI & Justin Bieber – ‘STAY’

Genesis Owusu – ‘The Other Black Dog’

Breakthrough Songwriter Of The Year


Genesis Owusu

Khaled Rohaim

Tyon Hapy & Harry Michael (Masked Wolf)


Most Performed Australian Work

Tones And I – ‘Fly Away’

Joel Corry ft. MNEK – ‘Head & Heart’

Guy Sebastian – ‘Love On Display’

Vance Joy – ‘Missing Piece’

The Kid LAROI – ‘Without You’

Most Performed Alternative Work

Amy Shark ft. Travis Barker – ‘C’mon’

Dean Lewis – ‘Falling Up’

The Rubens – ‘Masterpiece’

Vance Joy – ‘Missing Piece’

Lime Cordiale – ‘Reality Check Please’

Robbie Miller – ‘Catch Me’

Josh Teskey & Ash Grunwald – ‘Hungry Heart’

The Bamboos – ‘Power Without Greed’

Xavier Rudd – ‘Stoney Creek’

Most Performed Country Work

Seaforth – ‘Breakups’

Casey Barnes – ‘Come Turn Me On’

Fanny Lumsden – ‘Dig’

Amy Shark ft. Keith Urban – ‘Love Songs Ain’t For Us’

Brad Cox – ‘Short Lived Love’

Most Performed Dance/Electronic Work

Mashd N Kutcher ft. Dan Andrews – ‘Get On The Beers’

Joel Corry ft. MNEK – ‘Head & Heart’

David Guetta & SIA – ‘Let’s Love’

Peking Duk & The Wombats – ‘Nothing To Love About Love’

PNAU & Ladyhawke – ‘River’

Most Performed Hip Hop/Rap Work

HP Boyz – ‘Loyalty’

OneFour & The Kid LAROI – ‘My City’

Hooligan Hefs – ‘Send It’

The Kid LAROI – ‘Without You’

Most Performed Pop Work

Cat & Calmell – ‘Dramatic’

Tones And I – ‘Fly Away’

Peach PRC – ‘Josh’

Guy Sebastian – ‘Love On Display’

Benny Blanco, Marshmello & Vance Joy – ‘You’

Most Performed R&B/Soul Work

Budjerah – Higher

Youngn Lipz – ‘How?’

Miiesha – ‘Made For Silence’

Becca Hatch ft. Planet Vegeta – ‘Please U’

Jerome Farah – ‘Vibrate’

Most Performed Rock Work

Jimmy Barnes – ‘Flesh and Blood’

Spacey Jane – ‘Lots of Nothing’

AC/DC – ‘Shot In The Dark’

Gang of Youths – ‘The Angel of 8th Avenue’

You Am I – ‘The Waterboy’

Most Performed International Work

Olivia Rodrigo – ‘drivers license’

Sigala & James Arthur – ‘Lasting Lover’

Lil Nas X – ‘Montero (Call Me By Your Name)’

Jason Derulo – ‘Take You Dancing’

Tiësto – ‘The Business’

This article originally appeared on The Industry Observer, which is now part of The Music Network.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles