The Brag Media
News September 8, 2020

National Live Music Awards reveal nominees & new awards for 2020

National Live Music Awards reveal nominees & new awards for 2020
Sampa The Great / by Michaela Dutkova

Nominees for the fifth annual National Live Music Awards have been revealed, with Sampa The Great leading the way with three nominations.

The NLMAs will take place virtually on October 20, the night before this year’s online edition of BIGSOUND kicks off, with a special invite-only gala to happen at The Triffid in Brisbane.

Sampa The Great is up for Live Act Of The Year, and is joined on the list of nominees for the big gong by Ball Park Music, Genesis Owusu, Tropical Fuck Storm and WAAX.

The latter also secured three nominations, as did Violent Soho, while past winners including Stella Donnelly and Ngaiire received two nominations apiece.

DMA’s, Miiesha, Lime Cordiale and Ruby Fields landed first-time nominations.


WAAX / Supplied

The NMLAs will also see a new Journalist Award presented by The Music Network, to recognise outstanding contribution to live music journalism in Australia.

The nominees are Hayden Davies of Pilerats, Jules LeFevre of JunkeeThe Guardian contributor Kate Hennessy, The Brag Media‘s Poppy Reid and triple j contributor Sosefina Fuamoli.

Promoters will also be recognised this year through anther new award, presented by Oztix.

This year’s nominees are Secret Sounds for The 1975, Frontier Touring for TOOL, Handsome Tours for Sleaford Mods, Elton John with Chugg/AEG, and Live Nation/Secret Sounds for Orville Peck.

“Once again, I am inspired and buoyed by the quality and diversity of nominations for the 2020 National Live Music Awards. Live Music in Australia is truly world-class and these nominations are the evidence,” Katie Noonan, NLMAs board member, said.

“Our industry was decimated within a matter of days mid-March and will be the last to recover, but we fight on – to protect our amazing and resilient industry and all the artists who make it the world-class beast it is!

“The phoenix will rise from the ashes of this pandemic, and our amazing Australia music will be the soundtrack to its new journey.”

Violent Soho

Violent Soho / Supplied

The 2020 NLMAs will recognise live streams for the first time.

Meanwhile, the NLMAs will hand out a number of special achievement awards in the lead up to the event, including a special award presented by Musicians Making A Difference (MMAD).

The live performers and special presentations for the invite only gala are yet to be announced.

“It’s an honour to reveal the NLMA’s Class of 2020, a group who reflect a year that is split between normality and the exact opposite – but one that deserves to be celebrated from start to end – for incredible performances, ingenuity and perseverance.”

“We hope for those nominated, this is a glimmer a good news in what we know is a very tough time for so many around the country involved in the live industry – from the musician to the sound engineer, the venue owner to the festival booker.

“Our thoughts are with all of you, the entire Australian live industry – the best damn live scene in the world.”

Voting is now open until September 24.

Check out the full list of 2020 NLMAs nominees below:

Live Act of the Year
Ball Park Music
Genesis Owusu
Sampa The Great
Tropical Fuck Storm

Live Voice of the Year
Sampa The Great
Stella Donnelly
Zaachariaha Fielding (Electric Fields)

Live Guitarist of the Year – Presented by Jameson
Bec Goring (Gordi, Alexander Biggs, Merpire)
Courtney Barnett
James Tidswell (Violent Soho)  
Oscar Dawson (Holy Holy)
Stu Mackenzie (King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard)    

Live Bassist of the Year
Fiona Kitschin (Tropical Fuck Storm)
Grace Barbé
Jennifer Aslett (Stella Donnelly)
Joe Russo (Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever)
Luke Henery (Violent Soho)

The Sheddy: Live Drummer of the Year
Lindy Morrison (Alex The Astronaut)
Talya Valenti (Stella Donnelly, Bolt Gun)
Tim Commandeur (Tkay Maidza, PNAU)
Tom Bloomfield (WAAX)

Live Instrumentalist of the Year
Kirsty Tickle (Party Dozen)
Silentjay (Sampa The Great)
Toby Chew Lee (Baker Boy, The Veronicas etc.)
Warren Ellis (Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Dirty Three)
Zoe Davis (Cub Sport)

Live Event of the Year – Presented by Panhead Custom Ales
St Jerome’s Laneway Festival
Woodford Folk Festival
Yours & Owls Festival

Photographer of the Year – presented by Red Octopus
Adrian Thompson 
Jess Gleeson
Lauren Connelly 
Michelle Grace Hunder
Tashi Hall 

Live Music Journalist of the Year – presented by The Music Network
Hayden Davies 
Jules LeFevre   
Kate Hennessy  
Poppy Reid
Sosefina Fuamoli   

International Tour of the Year – presented by oztix
Elton John (Chugg & AEG)
Orville Peck (Live Nation & Secret Sounds)
Sleaford Mods (Handsome Tours)
The 1975 (Secret Sounds)
TOOL (Frontier Touring)

Best Live Act in NSW – Presented by 2SER
Caitlin Harnett & The Pony Boys
Lime Cordiale
Ruby Fields  

Best Live Act in ACT – Presented by BMA
Aya Yves
Citizen Kay
Hope Wilkins

Best Live Act in VIC – Presented by SYN 
Alice Ivy
Cable Ties  
Kira Puru  
Sampa The Great  

Best Live Act in QLD 

Jaguar Jonze
Violent Soho

Best Live Act in WA – Presented by Dailymotion
Great Gable  
Stella Donnelly
Sly Withers
Southern River Band
Your Girl Pho

Best Live Act in NT – Presented by Foldback Media NT
Caiti Baker
Kuya James  
Stevie Jean
Serina Pech

Best Live Act in TAS – Presented by Edge Radio
Swayze and the Ghosts
Chase City
EWAH & The Vision of Paradise
Slag Queens

Best Live Act in SA – Presented by Three D Radio
My Chérie
West Thebarton  

The 2020 National Live Music Awards are presented by Oztix, Brisbane City Council, Dailymotion, Panhead Custom Ales, Jameson, FV By Peppers, Red Octopus, Musicians Making a Difference (MMAD) and our national media partners The Music Network.

The regional media partners are 2SER (NSW), BMA (ACT), SYN Media (VIC), Foldback Media NT, Edge Radio (TAS) and Three D Radio (SA).

Related articles