The Brag Media
News November 21, 2019

‘Such an honour’: Teskey Brothers sweep 2019 Music Victoria Awards

‘Such an honour’: Teskey Brothers sweep 2019 Music Victoria Awards

The Music Victoria Awards scored a number of firsts at the Melbourne Recital Centre last night (November 20).

In its 15th year, a record number of talented women won in the genre categories.

Wiradjuri woman Naretha Williams became the first-ever First Nations and First Nations female artist to win Best Experimental or Avant-Garde Act.

Suldusk, who took Best Heavy Album, became the first heavy metal band to perform at the event.

The night belonged to The Teskey Brothers, however, who won Best Breakthrough Act in 2017, to win four gongs just two years later.

“We had a look at the nominees this year, and it was an incredible line-up, so to win this is such an honour for us,” they said,

“Thanks to everyone at Music Victoria and everyone who voted.”

Back-to-back winners Sampa The Great and Courtney Barnett held on to their titles of Best Hip Hop Act and Best Solo Artist, respectively.

G Flip took home the $5,000 Premier’s Prize for the Best Breakthrough Act.

Tones And I was handed a special Outstanding Achievement Award in recognition of her current achievements, both domestically and internationally, over the past year including going to #1 in 23 countries.

PBS 106.7FM’s Emma Peel and Jesse I accepted the community station’s Hall of Fame induction from film and TV identity Santo Cilauro.

Aside from Suldusk, there were live sets from Grand Salvo, and Melbourne-based South Sudanese artist Gordan Koang, while hip hop act Philly and vocalist Maylene Slater-Burns previewed their poignant single ‘Tired’, about the recent police shooting of a young Indigenous man in the Northern Territory.

The night ended with Kate Ceberano inducting Vika & Linda Bull into the Hall of Fame.

The sisters performed their song ‘When Will You Fall for Me?’ joined on guitar by Mark Seymour, who penned the song.

Public Voted Winners

The Premier’s Prize for the Best Victorian Album of 2019 – $10,000 cash prize

The Teskey Brothers – Run Home Slow

Best Band

The Teskey Brothers

Best Song – $3,000 APRA AMCOS cash prize

The Teskey Brothers – ‘So Caught Up’

Best Solo Artist

Courtney Barnett

Best Male Musician

Paul Kelly

Best Female Musician

Erica Dunn (Tropical F*ck Storm, Palm Springs, MOD CON, Harmony)

The Premier’s Prize for the Best Victorian Breakthrough Act of 2019 – $5,000 cash prize

G Flip

Best Live Act – $5,000 Lyrical Road travel voucher

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard

Best Small Venue (under 500 capacity)

Northcote Social Club, Northcote

Best Large Venue (over 500 capacity)

Forum, Melbourne

Industry Voted Winners

Best Festival

Golden Plains

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Act – $3,000 Bendigo Bank cash prize

The Teskey Brothers

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Over 50 gigs per year) – $3,000 Bendigo Bank cash prize

Theatre Royal, Castlemaine

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Under 50 gigs per year) – $3,000 Bendigo Bank cash prize

Meeniyan Town Hall, Meeniyan

Archie Roach Foundation Award for Emerging Talent – $2,000 Archie Roach Foundation cash prize

Key Hoo

Best Blues Album

Opelousas – Opelousified

Best Country Album

Matt Joe Gow – Break, Rattle And Roll

Best Electronic Act

Sui Zhen

Best Experimental or Avant-Garde Act

Naretha Williams

Best Folk or Roots Album

The Maes – The Maes

Best Heavy Album

Suldusk – Lunar Falls

Best Hip Hop Act

Sampa The Great

Best Intercultural Act


Best Jazz Album

Andrea Keller – Transients Vol. 1

Best Reggae and Dancehall Act

Echo Drama

Best Rock/Punk Album

Tropical F*ck Storm – Braindrops

Best Soul, Funk, Gospel or RnB Album

Allysha Joy – Acadie: Raw

The awards were co-presented by RRR 102.7FM and PBS 106.7FM, and hosted by community radio presenters Lyndelle Wilkinson and Chris Gill.

Related articles