The Brag Media
News May 31, 2021

Kristy Gostelow wins APRA AMCOS’ The Lighthouse Award

Kristy Gostelow wins APRA AMCOS’ The Lighthouse Award

APRA AMCOS has revealed Kristy Gostelow as the 2021 recipient of The Lighthouse Award in memory of pioneering artist manager Linda Gebar.

Gostelow, who fronts Kadence Group and operates as managing director of Lovely Awards, works across a variety of artist management, music business mentoring and grant writing roles, with her current artist roster consisting of Aodhan, Busby Marou, Colin Lillie and Tia Gostelow.

The Brisbane-based manager has also previously held senior management positions over a diverse range of fields, winning an Australia Day Award for Community Development and being nominated for Young Business Person of the Year at Queensland’s AIM Awards.

Gostelow expressed her gratitude to APRA AMCOS when accepting the award, acknowledging the memory of Linda Gebar and the contributions of her team over the past year.

“Being selected as the 2021 Lighthouse Award recipient and to be associated with Linda Gebar and the incredible recipients over the years is such an honour. Also, a little overwhelming but I am incredibly grateful,” Gostelow said.

“Thank you to APRA AMCOS for facilitating this award that celebrates women and non-binary artist managers. As an artist manager, I’m always happy to stay under the radar and revel in the success of my artists, so this is a really lovely award to be recognised for.

“I’m looking forward to using the award towards expanding my knowledge and business, that will in turn have a positive impact on both my roster and the wider music community.

“A huge shoutout to my family, business partner Graham Ashton and artists who have entrusted me with their careers and businesses.”

The Lighthouse Award was initially founded in honour of Linda Gebar, a revered Melbourne artist manager and venue booker who passed away in 2008, recognising the passion, integrity and creativity of a female or non-binary artist manager with a $5,000 cash prize each year.

Previous recipients of the award include Jen Cloher, Charlotte Abroms, Lorrae McKenna and last year’s winner Maggie Collins.

Related articles