News December 20, 2018

Jessica Mauboy, Busby Marou, Baker Boy dominate year-end Indigenous charts

Jessica Mauboy, Busby Marou, Baker Boy dominate year-end Indigenous charts

Busby Marou, Jessica Mauboy, Baker Boy and Tia Gostelow headline the end of year National Indigenous Music Chart.

The chart looks at the Top 20 Indigenous songs at Australian radio in 2018.

A project of the National Indigenous Music Awards, it uses data from airplay tracker Radio Monitor covering commercial, community, ABC, triple j and digital radio.

Its take-up by radio has been remarkable, says organisers, with station content heads saying it saved them the time of trawling through numerous airplay charts, and committing themselves to playlisting more Indigenous acts as a result.

This year, the most played Indigenous track was Mauboy’s Eurovision hit ‘We Got Love’.

Busby Marou have four entries while Mauboy, Baker Boy and Gostelow clocked up three each.

Others on the list emphasise the breadth and diversity of the scene.

The final weekly National Indigenous Music Chart will be released tomorrow and will return on January 11.

National Indigenous Music Chart

#1 ‘We Got Love’ – Jessica Mauboy

#2. ‘Fallin’ – Jessica Mauboy

#3. ‘Mr La Di Da Di’ – Baker Boy

#4. ‘Then I Met You’ – Jessica Mauboy

#5. ‘Clumsy Love’ – Thelma Plum

#6. ‘Sleep On It’ – Busby Marou ft. Nat Dunn

#7. ‘Black Magic’ – Baker Boy ft. Dallas Woods

#8. ‘Got Your Back’ – Busby Marou

#9. ‘Best Part of Me’ – Busby Marou

#10. ‘Blaccout’ – A.B. Original

#11. ‘Marryuna’ – Baker Boy

#12. ‘Strangers’ – Tia Gostelow ft. Lanks

#13. ‘Walk Away’ – Xavier Rudd

#14. ‘Phone Me’ – Tia Gostelow

#15. ‘Sound of Summer’ – Busby Marou

#16. ‘Hunger’ – Tia Gostelow

#17. ‘Friends With Feelings’ – Alice Skye

#18. ‘Treaty’ – Yothu Yindi

#19. ‘Native Tongue’ – Mojo Juju

#20. ‘Reaction’ – Dan Sultan

Related articles