The Brag Media
News November 4, 2019

triple j announce J Award nominees & new ‘You Done Good’ award

Former Assistant Editor
triple j announce J Award nominees & new ‘You Done Good’ award

Hilltop Hoods, Matt Corby, Northlane and G Flip have been revealed among the nominees for the triple j Australian Album Of The Year for 2019.

As part of the ABC’s Ausmusic Month celebrations, triple j has announced the J Award nominees for 2019, with 10 artists up for the major album award.

Hatchie, Hayden James, Holy Holy, Sampa The Great, Stella Donnelly and Thelma Plum make up the rest of the class of 2019 nominated artists.

triple j has announced a new awarded; the You Done Good Award. The fresh new gong sees five Australians who have “made an impact on the industry through outstanding achievement, social change or altruistic endeavours.”

This year’s nominees are;

  • Dylan Alcott – For making music accessible to everyone at Ability Fest
  • Harry the Poo Roadie – For putting his life on hold to rescue one of Australia’s most loved bands via faecal donations
  • Heidi Leffner – For launching renewable energy initiative FEAT.
  • National Indigenous Music Awards – For championing incredible Indigenous artists at their biggest event yet
  • Sarah Aarons – For a stand-out year co-writing multiple global hits for Khalid, Ruel, Peking Duk and more

Other categories returning for 2019 are the Double J Artist Of The Year, Unearthed Artist Of The Year, and triple j & Rage Australian Music Video Of The Year.

The winners will be announced live on air by triple j Drive duo Veronica & Lewis on Thursday, November 21 (from 4pm).

Check out all the remaining nominees below:

Double J Artist Of The Year:

  • Julia Jacklin
  • King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
  • Nick Cave
  • Sampa the Great
  • The Teskey Brothers

Unearthed Artist Of The Year:

  • Adrian Eagle
  • George Alice
  • Spacey Jane
  • The Chats
  • Tones And I

Music Video Of The Year:

  • Briggs – ‘Life Is Incredible’ {Ft. Greg Holden} (Director: Dylan River)
  • Flume – ‘Hi This Is Flume’ (Director: Jonathan Zawada)
  • Sampa the Great – ‘Final Form’ (Director: Sanjay De Silva)
  • The Chats – ‘Identity Theft’ (Director: Matt Weston)
  • Thelma Plum – ‘Better In Blak’ (Director: Claudia Sangiorgi Dalimore)


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles