News September 27, 2018

Inner Western Sydney band Spruced Moose wins Rockin’ the Puburbs

Inner Western Sydney band Spruced Moose wins Rockin’ the Puburbs

Inner West alt-rock band Spruced Moose has won the 2018 Rockin’ the Puburbs live music competition.

The annual competition, run by Australian Hotels Association NSW in conjunction with APRA AMCOS and Music NSW, is open to any NSW-based pub act which performs at least one song of original material.

“As a panel, we considered Spruced Moose displayed a talent and raw energy, and we are excited to watch as they develop further,” said AHA NSW director of liquor and policing John Green – one of the judges.

“Spruced Moose was the band which most reflected what Rockin’ the Puburbs is about – giving aspiring musicians an opportunity. They were the winners from a quality field.”

Almost 200 acts entered the competition.

AHA NSW CEO John Whelan said the competition is all about supporting live music in pubs.

“Many of Australia’s top music acts first got their start down at their local and the aim of Rockin’ the Puburbs is to support local music talent and give them a leg up in the industry,” he said.

“This competition is part of the AHA’s strong tradition of support for live music and I congratulate Spruced Moose on their win.”

The band will now receive the support of up to $12,000 towards a pub tour from AHA NSW, with additional support from Young Henrys.

Nigel Malcolm (keyboard), Alex Blair (electric guitar), Angus Bowring (vocals), Declan Bowring (bass guitar) and James Angus Mackinnon (drums) will also receive $3,000 towards a dedicated tour publicist and a mentoring session with an industry ambassador – worth approximately $15,000 in value.

The Top 10 Rockin’ the Puburbs finalists for 2018 were:

   Chasing Giants (pop/rock/R&B/soul) – Newtown

   Dande & The Lion (pop/rock) – Western Suburbs/ Northern Beaches

  Fiction Writer (rock) – Sydney

   Grizzlee Train (rock/alt/blues’n’roots) – Central Coast

   Michael Dechesne (blues’n’roots) – Baulkham Hills

   Mooki (electronic/alternative/hip hop) – Rockdale

   Pirra (pop/rock/alt) – Sydney

   Romi (electronic folk) – Petersham

   Spruced Moose (alternative) – Inner West

  Tullara (country/folk/blues’n’roots) – Ramornie

Related articles