The Brag Media ▼
New Signings March 18, 2021

Hiatus Kaiyote join the Universal Music Publishing roster

Executive Editor, B2B & Print
Hiatus Kaiyote join the Universal Music Publishing roster

Universal Music Publishing Australia has signed Grammy-nominated band Hiatus Kaiyote to an exclusive deal covering both Australia and New Zealand.

The partnership follows the release of the jazz-funk outfit’s new single, ‘Get Sun’.

Hiatus Kaiyote also signed a global administration deal in the US with Warner Music Group’s publishing arm Warner Chappell Music last August, excluding the ANZ markets.

Formed in 2011 in mid-northern Melbourne, Hiatus Kaiyote consists of band members Naomi ‘Nai Palm’ Saalfield on vocals and guitar, Paul Bender on bass and cello, Simon Mavin on keyboards and Perrin Moss on drums and percussion.

The major’s A&R and creative vice president, Arwen Hunt, has touted the deal as “one the most exciting signings we’ve ever made” in a statement.

“I’ve been listening to Hiatus Kaiyote since being introduced to them by Gilles Peterson back in 2013,” Hunt said. “They are music royalty to our entire team so we, of course, jumped at the opportunity to work with them.”

The band has received two Grammy nominations for Best R&B Performance, first for ‘Nakamarra’ in 2014 and again in 2016 with ‘Breathing Underwater’.

Hiatus Kaiyote is the first Aussie act to be nominated for a Grammy in the R&B category.

Global streaming superstar Drake sampled their ‘Building a Ladder’ at the beginning of ‘Free Smoke’, the opening song for his hybrid playlist album More Life.

Palm later collaborated with Drake on his Scorpion album in 2018.

Beyoncé and Jay-Z also used a part of their track ‘The World It Softly Lulls’ on the single ‘713”, lifted from the power couple’s joint album Everything Is Love.

“Super excited to start working with Arwen, Nora Wever and the rest of the UMPG team. It has been lovely meeting them all, looking forward to 2021 and beyond,” the band said.

They join a roster that includes Alex The Astronaut, DNA, Ecca Vandal, Gang of Youths, Guy Sebastian, Jessica Mauboy, Lime Cordiale, M-Phazes, and more.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles