The Brag Media ▼
News November 9, 2018

Four wins for West Thebarton at South Australian Music Awards

Four wins for West Thebarton at South Australian Music Awards
West Thebarton. Image via Facebook.

West Thebarton dominated the South Australian Music (SAM) Awards last night.

They won Best Group, Best Song (‘Bible Camp’), Best Album (for their debut Different Beings Being Different) and the People’s Choice vote for Best Rock Artist.

MANE, A.B. Original and Adrian Eagle also made their presence felt at the Adelaide Town Hall, in a ceremony hosted by music journalist Zan Rowe.

In the Industry Award categories, Clarity Records’ A Day of Clarity won Best Event/Festival among tough competition from WOMADelaide and last year’s winner Porch Sessions.

5/4 Entertainment’s Craig Lock’s Best Manager win was for the fourth time.

Tam Boakes received the Music SA lifetime achievement for her work at music venue Jive.

The Ryan Freemen Live Music Achievement award went to Max Savage, along with $4,000 towards his continued contribution to live performance.

Lisa Bishop, general manager of Music SA, said the awards were the perfect celebration of contemporary music in SA.

“The South Australian Music Awards showcase the very best of our music scene and demonstrate why it’s in such fantastic shape.”

Minister for Industry and Skills David Pisoni said: “Music SA has done an outstanding job of raising the profile of these awards and, as such, the South Australian Music industry.

“I am pleased to have provided additional funding of $550,000 to continue the Live Music Events Fund, which supports new or unique music festivals and events that have the potential to grow into major tourist attractions and increase employment in the music industry.”

The People’s Choice Awards received 157 entrants and 7,343 online votes cast across 12 genre categories.


Best Song

West Thebarton – ‘Bible Camp’

Best New Artist

Adrian Eagle

Best Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Artist

A.B. Original

Best Group

West Thebarton

Best Solo Artist


Best Release

West Thebarton – Different Beings Being Different


 Best Studio

Ghostnote Recording Studio

Best Engineer

Mario Spate

Best Music Festival / Event

A Day of Clarity (Clarity Records)

Best Music Venue

Crown & Anchor Hotel

Best Manager

Craig Lock

Best Cover Art

Neon Tetra (Jack Fenby)

Best Music Video

Mallrat – ‘Better’ (Rory Pippan – Young Black Youth)

UNESCO International Collaboration Award

Zephyr Quartet

Music SA Lifetime Achievement Award

Tam Boakes

Ryan Freemen Live Music Achievement Award

Max Savage



Ollie English


The Heggarties




Abbey Howlett

FOLK Artist

Laura Hill

HEAVY Artist

Dirty Pagans & Hidden Intent

HIP HOP Artist

Tkay Maidza

JAZZ Artist

Adam Page

POP Artist

Heaps Good Friends

PUNK Artist

Young Offenders

ROCK Artist

West Thebarton


The Coconut Kids


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles