News October 3, 2016

First Announce: ARIA Award nominees for Fine Arts, Artisan, Best Comedy Release

Managing Editor

ARIA have lifted the curtain on this year’s awards nominees in the categories of Fine Arts, Artisan and Best Comedy Release.

ARIA #1 records from Flume (Skin) and The Avalanches (Wildflower) are nominated across all three of the Artisan gongs, including Producer of the Year, Engineer of the Year and Best Cover Art.

Winners of the non-televised categories will get to take home their pointy silver statue when awards are handed out at ARIA’s nominations event tomorrow (Wednesday October 5).

ARIA Chairman & CEO Australia & New Zealand, and President, Asia, Sony Music Entertainment, Denis Handlin AM, said: “Congratulations to all of this year’s nominees in the Fine Arts, Artisan and Best Comedy Awards.

“To be nominated for an ARIA is a wonderful achievement and is a credit to their talent, dedication and passion to their craft.”

The ARIA nominations event begins the annual celebrations leading up to ARIA Week festivities from 18 November, and the 2016 ARIA Awards Presented By Telstra on 23 November at The Star, Sydney – broadcast on Network Ten.

ARIA CEO Dan Rosen said: “We are very excited to be launching The 30th ARIA Awards Presented By Telstra celebrations by recognising the incredible nominees for the Fine Arts, Artisan and Comedy Awards.

“We are also thrilled to have Nick Seymour, founding member of 2016 ARIA Hall of Fame inductees Crowded House, design this year’s commemorative artwork. The captivating design features the instantly recognisable Nick Seymour style that has been showcased across each of the Crowded House album covers.”



This is the fourth year an Australian artist has created unique artwork to celebrate the ARIAs. Without further ado or ramblings, here are your nominees;



Producer Of The Year

Harley Streten for Flume – Skin (Future Classic)

M-Phazes for Illy – Papercuts (ft. Vera Blue) (Warner Music Australia)

Tony Buchen for Montaigne – Glorious Heights (Wonderlick Recording Company)

Robbie Chater and Tony Di Blasi for The Avalanches – Wildflower (Modular / EMI)

Alex Hope for Troye Sivan – Blue Neighbourhood (EMI)

Engineer Of The Year

Nick DiDia for Bernard Fanning – Civil Dusk (Dew Process/Universal)

Eric J Dubowsky and Harley Streten for Flume – Skin (Future Classic)

M-Phazes for Illy – ‘Papercuts (ft. Vera Blue) (Warner Music Australia)

Tony Espie and Robbie Chater for The Avalanches – Wildflower (Modular / EMI)

Alex Hope for Troye Sivan – Blue Neighbourhood (EMI)

Best Cover Art

Karen Lynch for Bernard Fanning – Civil Dusk (Dew Process/Universal)

Kristen Doyle for Delta Goodrem – Wings of the Wild (Sony Music Australia)

Jonathan Zawada for Flume – Skin (Future Classic)

Jack Vanzet for RÜFÜS – Bloom (Sweat It Out / Sony Music Australia)

Robbie Chater for Lost Art for The Avalanches – Wildflower (Modular / EMI)



Best Classical Album

Flight Facilities – Live with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra (Future Classic)

Joe Chindamo & Zoe Black – The New Goldberg Variations (AlFi Records / Planet)

Katie Noonan & Brodsky Quartet – With Love And Fury (Kin Music/Universal Music)

Nicole Car – The Kiss (ABC Classics/Universal Music)

Richard Tognetti | Australian Chamber Orchestra – Mozart’s Last Symphonies (ABC Classics/Universal Music)

Best Jazz Album

Don Burrows & James Morrison – In Good Company (ABC Jazz/Universal Music)

Emma Pask – Cosita Divina (Independent/Emma Pask Music)

Stu Hunter – The Migration (The Habitat Productions)

The Idea of North – Ballads (ABC Jazz/Universal Music)

Vince Jones & Paul Grabowsky – Provenance (ABC Jazz/Universal Music)

Best Original Soundtrack/Cast/Show Album

Josh Pyke & The Sydney Symphony Orchestra – Live at the Sydney Opera House (ABC Music/Universal Music)

Kate Miller-Heidke – The Rabbits (Original Live Cast Recording) (ABC Classics/Universal Music)

Queensland Symphony Orchestra – Gallipoli Symphony (ABC Classics/Universal Music)

Various Artists – The Divorce (Original Cast Recording) (Universal Music Australia)

Various Artists – Velvet : The Original Cast Recording (Social Family Records/Universal Music Australia)

Best World Music Album

Gawurra – Ratja Yaliyali (CAAMA Music/Rocket)

Joseph Tawadros – World Music (Independent / Planet)

Melbourne Ska Orchestra – Sierra Kilo Alpha (FOUR FOUR/Universal Music)

Paul Grabowsky | Monash Art Ensemble | David Ngukurr Boy Wilfred | David Yipininy Wilfred – Nyilipidgi (ABC Jazz/Universal Music)

Seaman Dan – An Old Man Of The Sea (Hot Records)


Kate Miller-Heidke – I’m Growing A Beard Downstairs For Christmas (feat. The Beards) (Cooking Vinyl Australia)

Luke Heggie – You’re Not Special/Anythink is Possible (Century Entertainment)

Matt & Alex – Play It Out (ABC Music/Universal Music)

Roy & HG – This Sporting Life (ABC Music/Universal Music)


The ARIA Awards and ARIA Week are proudly supported by the NSW Government, through its tourism and major events agency Destination NSW.

At last year’s event the #ARIAs hashtag trended at #1 on Twitter nationally, and continued to trend the following day reaching almost three million people.



Source: Sounds Like Jake

Related articles