The Brag Media ▼
News October 27, 2015

Face The Music announces more international guests

Former Editor

Ayisha Jaffer, member of Lorde’s Saiko Management team, Marshall Betts of Windish Agency, Adam Lewis of Planetary Group, Detroit techno collective Underground Resistance and frontman of Tangerine Dream, Edgar Froese are all set to guest at next month’s Face The Music industry conference in five week’s time.

During her 14-year career, Jaffer worked at Universal Music, The Windish Agency and Punkdafunk Management before taking on her role as manager at the NZ-based Saiko Management. At Saiko management, Jaffer works with Grammy winner Lorde, Thomston, Mt. Eden and Sol3 Mio among others.

Marshall Betts of US-based Windish Agency started his career as an Assistant Manager to Guided By Voices, Yoko Ono and Tift Merrit. During his decade-long career Betts has worked at some of the largest agencies in the world including CAA, and APA; at Windish he represents Courtney Barnett, Veruca Salt, White Lung and Cibo Matto.

Adam Lewis co-founded US-based boutique music marketing company Planetary Group in 1996. Lewis has helped push the careers of acts like The Preatures, The Decemberists, Bloc Party, Apples In Stereo, Kings Of Leon, and Portugal, The Man through radio and blog exposure in the US and Canada. He’ll offer insight into breaking into international market places and international music promotion.

As part of Melbourne Music Week Underground Resistance will take part in its ‘In Conversation’ series. They’ll talk about growing up in Detroit, providing insight into the birthplace of techno, as well as their desire for social and political change.

Edgar Froese is considered a pioneer of German electronic music and as a member of Tangerine Dream he’ll shed light on the band’s approach to composition and technical production, as well as exploring the history of the seminal group in an intimate conversation.

Also announced to join the aforementioned, Steve Albini, Daddy Cool, Jen Long and Pikelet, among others, is Nai Palm (Artist, Hiatus Kaiyote), Henry Wagons (Artist, Wagons), Wally ’Meanie’ Kempton (Artist Manager), Oscar Key Sung (Artist), Georgie Powell (Youtube), Kirin J Callinan (Artist), Alek Akers (Artist), Will Larnach-Jones (Parallel Management), Rob Giovannoni (Select Music), Owen McKern (PBS FM), Matt Ridgway (Ableton Live User Group), Jess Ribeiro (Artist), Tony ‘Jack The Bear’ Mantz (Jack The Bears Deluxe Mastering), Vanessa Hutley (Music Rights Australia), Stuart Watters (AIR), Pam Thornback (Inertia), Scott Fitzsimons (The Music), Shaun Adams (Venue Booker), Henry Compton (The Orchard) and Nick Clarke (Music Journalist / Presenter).

Face The Music takes place at Arts Centre Melbourne on Friday November 14th and Saturday 15th. Tickets available from



Steve Albini – Artist / Engineer

Daddy Cool

Ed Nimmervoll – Music Journalist

Dave Batty – Custom Made / Artist Voice

Johann Ponniah – I OH YOU

Briese Abbott – Spark & Opus

Ben Thompson – Corner Presents

James Young – Cherry Bar, Yah Yahs

Antonia Sellbach – Love of Diagrams, Beaches

Harley Evans – Moshtix

Millie Millgate – Sounds Australia

Glenn Dickie – Sounds Australia

Chris Hatzis – 3RRR

Cara Williams – Beat

Chris Johnson – AMRAP/CBAA

Emma Telfer – The Office Of Good Design

Sophia Brous – Artist / Curator

Caleb Williams – Unified

Kirsty Rivers – APRA AMCOS

Yvette Myhill – AAM

Patrick Donovan – Music Victoria

Leigh Treweek –


Jen Long – BBC Three / Radio 1

Helen Croome – Gossling

Evelyn Morris – Pikelet

Drew Wootton – The Panics

Stu Grant – Primitive Calculators

Ange Henley – Angela Henley Publicity

Rhett McLaren – The Hills Are Alive / Unified

Pete Williamson – Sabretusk

Tim Dalton – Collarts

John Wardle – National Live Music Office

Zac Abroms – Viceroyalty

Tom Harris – Whitesky

Shane Wickens – The Push

Sarah Guppy – This Much Talent


Ayisha Jaffer – Saiko Management

Marshall Betts – Windish Agency

Adam Lewis – Planetary Group

Underground Resistance

Edgar Froese – Tangerine Dream

Nai Palm – Artist, Hiatus Kaiyote

Henry Wagons – Artist, Wagons

Wally ’Meanie’ Kempton – Artist Manager

Oscar Key Sung – Artist

Georgie Powell – Youtube

Kirin J Callinan – Artist

Alek Akers – Artist

Will Larnach-Jones – Parallel Management

Rob Giovannoni – Select Music

Owen McKern – PBS FM

Matt Ridgway – Ableton Live User Group

Jess Ribeiro – Artist

Tony ‘Jack The Bear’ Mantz – Jack The Bears Deluxe Mastering

Vanessa Hutley – Music Rights Australia

Stuart Watters – AIR

Pam Thornback – Inertia

Scott Fitzsimons –

Shaun Adams – Venue Booker

Henry Compton – The Orchard

Nick Clarke – Music Journalist / Presenter


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles