News December 5, 2017

Complete AMP Longlist announced, 45 artists vying for $30,000 cash prize

Complete AMP Longlist announced, 45 artists vying for $30,000 cash prize

The complete 13th Australian Music Prize (AMP) Longlist has been announced at an event at the National Hotel in Melbourne, with 45 acts revealed to vie for the $30,000 cash prize from the PPCA.

Since early October, the judges have started to announce some of the albums who made the cut at various Longlist Live pop-up gigs in Sydney, Brisbane and Melbourne presented by Longlist partner Mountain Goat Beer.

After listening to more than 400 Australian albums – a new record – released in the 2017 calendar year, the judging panel, chaired by Dave Faulkner of Hoodoo Gurus, have confirmed the following albums have made the Longlist:


Alex Lahey – I Love You Like A Brother

Ali BarterA Suitable Girl

Alex CameronForced Witness

BeachesSecond of Spring

Ben SalterBack Yourself

Billy DavisA Family Portrait

BirdzTrain of Thought

BOAT SHOWGroundbreaking Masterpiece

Boo SeekaNever Too Soon


Cable TiesCable Ties

Cameron AveryRipe Dreams, Pipe Dreams

The Creases – Tremolow

Courtney Barnett, Kurt VileLotta Sea Lice

Cub SportBATS

Dappled Cities IIIII

Darcy BaylisIntimacy & Isolation

Ecca VandalEcca Vandal

EWAH & The Vision of ParadiseEverything Fades to Blue

Gang of YouthsGo Farther In Lightness

Glitter VeilsFigures in Sight

Gold ClassDrum

Gordi Reservoir

Gretta ZillerQueen of Boomtown

Hazel EnglishJust Give In/Never Going Home

Holly ThrosbyAfter A Time

Jen CloherJen Cloher

Jess LockeUniverse

Jordan Ireland with Purple OrchestraJordan Ireland with Purple Orchestra

Jordan RakeiWallflower

Kasey ChambersDragonfly

King Gizzard & the Wizard Lizard Flying Microtonal Banana

Liars TFCF

Machine TranslationsOh

Mere WomenBig Skies

Methyl EthelEverything Is Forgotten

Nerve QuakesA New State

Paul KellyLife Is Fine

PondThe Weather

Sampa The GreatBirds and the BEE9

The Smith Street Band More Scared Of You Than You Are Of Me

Tim RogersAn Actor Repairs

Time For DreamsIn Time

Tornado WallaceLonely Planet

Underground LoversStaring At You Staring At Me

The VampiresThe Vampires Meet Lionel Loueke


Among those who’ve previously been AMP-nominated are Courtney Barnett, Beaches, Jen Cloher, Gold Class, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard and Methyl Ethyl.

Responding to her inclusion Jen Cloher said, “The AMP is Australia’s most important music prize because it’s judged purely on artistic merit.

“Having been both a judge and a nominee, I’ve seen the incredible amount of thought that goes into selecting the shortlist.

“Anyone who lands on there can be assured that it’s no accident.

“Australian’s are making some of the best music in the world at the moment.

“$30,000 can go a long way towards touring and recording your next album – another important reason to get behind the AMP!”

The Smith Street Band’s Chris Cowburn stated, “We’re absolutely honoured that our album has been Longlisted for the AMP prize.

“It’s truly wonderful to be even mentioned in the same breath as so many amazing Australian artists. Best of luck to all the nominees!”

Last night’s event was hosted by Brian Nankervis (RocKwiz) and Sam Lockwood from 2011 AMP winners’ The Jezabels.

There were also live sets from Jen Cloher, Birdz and Gretta Ziller.

Also present were former AMP winners Remi and Sensible J (2014) and Big Scary (2013), with 2017 nominees The Underground Lovers, Beaches, Cable Ties and The Smith Street Band.

The 13th AMP Shortlist will be announced in late January, before the winner is announced in early March.

Follow the AMP on and

Related articles