News October 11, 2019

Over 20 more albums added to Australian Music Prize long-list

Over 20 more albums added to Australian Music Prize long-list

Australian Music Prize 2019 just added a swag of new titles to its long-list.

“An unbelievable nod to the amazing body of work being produced by our musicians every year,” award founder Scott Murphy said this morning.

He added: “In its fifteenth year, the Australian Music Prize has never been more vital in our music ecosystem, shining a light on the place that amazing albums hold in our industry.”

Latest Additions are (in alphabetical order):

Amyl & the Sniffers – Amyl & the Sniffers

Art of Fighting – Luna Low

Batts – The Grand Tour

Bench Press – Not the Past, Can’t Be the Future

Black Lung – The Great Manipulator

Pond – Tasmania

Robert Forster – Inferno

Russell Morris – Black & Blue Heart

Ry X – Unfurl

Sarah Mary Chadwick – Queen Who Stole The Sky

Squaring Circles – Motion

Dope Lemon – Smooth Big Cat

Ferla – It’s Personal

Gold Fields – Dalawa

Hexdebt – Rule Of Four

Huntly – Low Grade Buzz

I Know Leopard – Love Is A Landmine

Jimmy Barnes – My Criminal Record

The Beasts – Still Here

The Money War – Home

Vulture St. Tape Gang – More Mature Themes For Childish People

They join records by, among others, Julia Jacklin, Thelma Plum, King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard, Mansionair, Cub Sport, Methyl Ethel, Alex Lahey, Stella Donnelly, Hatchie, Jess Ribeiro, and Emma Russack,

Murphy told TMN earlier this year that the judging panel has been expanded to 39, made up of media, artists and retail.

Related articles