The Brag Media ▼
News February 5, 2019

APRA song of the year reveals its most diverse shortlist

Senior Journalist, B2B
APRA song of the year reveals its most diverse shortlist
Image: : A.B. Original at last year’s winners’ podium

The shortlist for this year’s APRA AMCOS’s Song of the Year is certainly a diverse one.

Announced this morning, it represented everyone from high flyers as Dean Lewis, Courtney Barnett, A.B. Original’s Adam Briggs & Daniel Rankine, Baker Boy, Amy Shark, Paul Kelly, John Butler and The Living End to fresher faces as Grammy-nominated Sarah Aarons, Mojo Juju, Kaiit, The Teskey Brothers, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard and Ziggy Alberts.

The APRA Music Awards are staged in Melbourne this year, on Tuesday, April 30, and also announced Kate Miller-Heidke as their music director.

She will conduct the orchestra that reinterprets some of the nominated songs on the night.

Image: Kate Miller-Heidke is new music director

The final five are unveiled next month.


(Listed in alphabetical order of song title)

‘Be Alright” by Dean Lewis (writers: Dean Lewis / Jon Hume)

‘Blaccout”, A.B. Original (Adam Briggs / Daniel Rankine)

‘Body”, The Necks (Chris Abrahams / Tony Buck / Lloyd Swanton)

‘Don’t Lose It”, The Living End (Chris Cheney / Scott Owen / Andy Strachan / Tobias  Kuhn)

‘Exactly How You Are”, Ball Park Music (Sam Cromack)

‘Forever You And Me”, The Teskey Brothers (Joshua Teskey / Samuel Teskey / Liam Gough / Brendon Love)

‘Greenhouse Heat Death”, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard (Stuart Mackenzie)

‘High Water’, 8Ball Aitken (8Ball Aitken / Guthrie Kennard)

‘Home”. John Butler Trio (John Butler / Martin Brown / Thomas Crawford / Katy Steele)

‘I Said Hi’, Amy Shark (Amy Shark)

‘Love Me Now’, Ziggy Alberts (Ziggy Alberts)

‘Marryuna’, Baker Boy ft Yirrmal (Danzal Baker / Dion Brownfield / Jerome Farah / Yirrmal Marika)

‘Nameless Faceless’ by Courtney Barnett (Courtney Barnett)

‘Native Tongue’, Mojo Juju (Mojo Juju / Joel Ma / Rita Seumanuta)

OG Luv Kush Pt 2′, Kaiit (Kaiit Waup / Michael Chan / Anthony Douglas / Mohamed Komba / Jaydean Miranda / Damian Smith)

‘Slow Mover’, Angie McMahon (Angie McMahon)

‘Society’, Ainslie Wills (Ainslie Wills / Bram Inscore / Maureen McDonald)

‘The Middle’, Zedd, Maren Morris & Grey (Sarah Aarons / Jordan Johnson / Stefan Johnson/ Marcus Lomax / Kyle Trewartha / Michael Trewartha / Anton Zaslavski)

‘Tonight’, Baby Animals (Suze DeMarchi / Dave Leslie)

‘Walk Away’, Xavier Rudd (Xavier Rudd)

‘With The One I Love’, Paul Kelly (Paul Kelly)

The 2019 awards are the first under APRA AMCOS chief executive Dean Ormston.

“The APRA Music Awards have evolved a great deal since we last held the event in Melbourne in 2013, “ he says.

“So I’m thrilled that this year we’ll be presenting our very special night in such a fantastic music city and at the venerable Melbourne Town Hall.

“It will be a true celebration of our songwriter and publisher members, and of course, the songs.”

All APRA songwriter and publisher members who voted for the Peer-Voted APRA Song of the Year were automatically placed into the draw to win a $5,000 suite of prizes.

These included a Levi’s® voucher, Jands microphone package compliments of Shure, studio session time at Sing Sing East Studio, a Showgroup Travel voucher, Chugg Entertainment concert tickets, accommodation in Ovolo Hotels and two tickets to the 2019 APRA Music Awards.

The shortlisted playlists can be streamed on Spotify and Apple Music.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles