The Brag Media
News January 10, 2019

Angie McMahon, Kwame, Mansionair & more added to SXSW 2019 Line-up

Angie McMahon, Kwame, Mansionair & more added to SXSW 2019 Line-up

The annual live music rodeo that is SXSW is nearly upon us, and the Aussies will be in full voice.

A third and latest round of performers dropped overnight, with rising indie artists Angie McMahon, Kwame, Mansionair and Psychedelic Porn Crumpets among the 14 new additions from these parts.

Inclusion in the massive SXSW showcase lineup is just reward for McMahon, who enjoyed a breakout year in 2018 with nominations at the AIR Awards, J Awards and the Age Music Victoria celebration, a guest slot on Paul Kelly’s Making Gravy tour and a nod in the SXSW statement that went wide overnight, in which she’s tipped as one of Australia’s “buzzy” new artists. Another SXSW performer with the wind in their sails is Kwame, the Sydney rapper who snagged Triple J’s Unearthed artist of the year trophy last November.

Also among the 300-plus names confirmed today is Anna Robinson, the Nelson, New Zealand singer and songwriter who goes by the name Robinson.

perth band Psychedelic Porn Crumpets 2017 press shot

Psychedelic Porn Crumpets

Founded in 1987 in Austin, Texas, the SXSW Music Festival is the biggest showcase event of its type anywhere on the planet. Some 800 acts from around the globe have been announced for the 33rd annual event, which runs March 11-17.

The festival also unveiled first-time showcase line-ups from Spacebomb Records, YEAR0001, Playtime Festival Mongolia, Don’t Come to LA, She Shreds, Verve Label Group, and Mahogany, while returning showcases include Communion, Gorilla vs. Bear + Luminelle, and BBC. In addition, Bloodshot Records will celebrate its quarter-century anniversary, while Sounds from Columbia reaches its decade milestone with a party.

Sounds Australia clocks up 10 years this week as SXSW’s export music resource while its organisers applaud the work of the New Zealand Music Commission for driving the Kiwi wave.

Additional artists and details on the live programme and venue locations will be announced in the coming weeks. Read more here.

SXSW 2019 newly announced Australian artists:
Angie McMahon (Melbourne)
Carmouflage Rose (Brisbane)
Golden Vessel (Brisbane)
Grace Turner (Newcastle)
Greenwave Beth (Sydney)
Harmony Byrne (Melbourne)
Indigo Sparke (Sydney)
Kwame (Sydney)
Mansionair (Sydney)
Moonlover (Melbourne)
Psychedelic Porn Crumpets (Perth)
San Mei (Robina)
Spike Vincent (Sydney)
Two People (Melbourne)

And from New Zealand:
Robinson (Nelson)

This article originally appeared on The Industry Observer, which is now part of The Music Network.

Related articles