News April 12, 2018

Amy Shark, Jungle Giants, lead nominations for Queensland Music Awards

Amy Shark, Jungle Giants, lead nominations for Queensland Music Awards

Amy Shark and The Jungle Giants lead the nominations for the Queensland Music Awards  (QMAs) with three each.

Following behind with two each are WAAX, Tia Gostelow, The Kite String Tangle, Cub Sport, Eleea and King Social.

The QMAs are held on Monday May 14 in Brisbane – tickets are on sale now via Oztix.

Organiser QMusic also announced this morning that WAAX, Brad Butcher, Carmouflage Rose, Jeremy Neale, The Kite String Tangle, May Lyn and Greta Stanley are performing.

The shortlist for the 2018 Album of the Year includes The Jungle Giants (Quiet Ferocity), The Creases (Tremolow), Cub Sport (BATS), The Kite String Tangle (The Kite String Tangle) and Airling (Hard to Sleep, Easy to Dream).

The awards most competitive category, Best Pop Song,, features Amy Shark’s ‘Weekends’, Cub Sport’s ‘Chasin’, Sheppard’s ‘Coming Home’ and The Jungle Giants’ hit ‘Feel The Way I Do’.

Battling it out for Best Rock Song are DZ Deathrays and Jeremy Neale with first-time nominees WAAX and the Gold Coast’s Landings.

The Gold Coast’s bourgeoning scene throws up newcomers Eliza & The Delusionals, Harry J Hart and Eleea receiving their debut nominations alongside previous QMA winners Amy Shark, Karl S Williams and Doolie.

Far North Queensland is represented with four nominations – Cairns-based hip-hop act VEXED and emerging songwriter Greta Stanley, Kuranda’s soul/funk/R’n’B soloist Mayah, and Schools Award nominees Legends of Perhaps, the sibling four-piece from Cooktown.

Voting is now open now and will close midnight April 26.

All entries will go into the draw to win a BIGSOUND Festival Rainbow pass for two to catch all the showcase gigs at Fortitude Valley September 4—7.

In addition, four finalists are in the running for the $10,000 Billy Thorpe Scholarship 2018.

They are Brisbane-based ambient-electronic producer Yoste, indie electronica songwriter Keelan Mak, acoustic pop songwriter Harry Phillips, and Greta Stanley.

The winner will be announced at the QMAs. The Thorpe Fellowship is supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland.

The night will also feature winner announcements for Export and Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Related articles