News May 4, 2018

Amy Shark, Hollow Coves among winners at Gold Coast Music Awards

Amy Shark, Hollow Coves among winners at Gold Coast Music Awards

Amy Shark and folk duo Hollow Coves were among the winners at the fourth Gold Coast Music Awards.

The sold-out event was held last night at the Surfers Paradise Surfers Paradise Beachfront, and hosted by former triple j identity Dom Alessio.

Shark took out Artist of the Year for a second year running, while Hollow Coves won Breakout Artist and Song of the Year for ‘Coastline’.

Other winners were:

Album of the Year: Hussy HicksOn The Boundaries

Event of the Year: Shakafest

Live Act of the Year: The Mason Rack Band

Venue of the Year: Miami Tavern Shark Bar

Video of the Year: Lane Harry x Ike Campbell – ‘The Dash’ (directed by Nils Nilsson)

People’s Choice Award: Baltimore Gun Club

The night rounded out with live performances by Bobby Alu, Hussy Hicks, Elektrik Lemonade and triple j faves Eliza & The Delusionals.

The night was also a reflection of the buoyancy of the Gold Coast scene, with the winner’s list only scraping the surface of what’s on offer.

The awards process did throw a spotlight on the other acts who are also making waves.

These included Bleeding Knees Club, Karl S Williams, Lastlings, PACES, Black Rabbit George, Hussy Hicks, Rhea Robertson, Casey Barnes, Hammers, Wayward Suns and Tijuana Cartel.

Related articles